Ferreira: Tahs have best scrum

    2013-05-03 07:44

    Cape Town - The Kings are facing their biggest challenge yet this season at scrum time, says loosehead prop Schalk Ferreira.

    "The Waratahs definitely boast the No 1 scrum-pack in the Super-series," Ferreira told Die Burger.

    "They have an all-Wallaby pack - all with experience of Test rugby."

    Ferreira also lauded the men from Sydney for the "honest" manner in which they engage at the set piece.

    "They don't try any fancy tricks, they rely on brutal force."                                                                                                                                                                                              
    Ferreira said one thing which stood out in their game against the Brumbies was the trickery employed by Jake White's men.

    "They (Brumbies) have a lot of variations and stuff, but these guys (Waratahs) have a really solid pack which focuses on the physical aspects."

    The Waratahs' loosehead prop, Benn Robinson, is their most experienced Test player with 56 international caps, while Ferreira's direct opponent, Sekope Kepu, has 23 Wallaby caps. Their hooker, Tatafu Polota-Nau, has played 44 Tests and almost 100 Super Rugby games.

    The clash at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium kicks off at 17:05 on Saturday.



    15. George Whitehead, 14. Sergeal Petersen, 13. Ronnie Cooke, 12. Andries Strauss (captain), 11. Siyanda Grey, 10. Demetri Catrakilis, 9. Shaun Venter, 8. Jacques Engelbrecht, 7. Wimpie van der Walt, 6. Cornell du Preez, 5. Rynier Bernado, 4. Steven Sykes, 3. Kevin Buys, 2. Bandise Maku, 1. Schalk Ferreira

    Substitutes: 16. Virgile Lacombe, 17. Grant Kemp, 18. David Bulbring, 19. Luke Watson, 20. Nicolas Vergallo, 21. Waylon Murray, 22. Siviwe Soyizwapi


    15 Israel Folau, 14 Cam Crawford, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Rob Horne, 11 Peter Betham, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Brendan McKibbin, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Dave Dennis (captain), 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Sitaleki Timani, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson

    Substitutes: 16 John Ulugia, 17 Paddy Ryan, 18 Will Skelton, 19 Mitchell Chapman, 20 Pat McCutcheon, 21 Matt Lucas, 22 Ben Volavola

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.