Ex-coach recalls Sharks' 2000 Sydney win

    2015-05-14 10:05

    Cape Town - Hugh Reece-Edwards, the last man to coach the Sharks to victory over the Waratahs in Sydney, has given the team a few words of encouragement.

    The embattled Sharks face a tough task against the defending Super Rugby champions there on Saturday.

    Reece-Edwards coached the Sharks to their only win ever in Sydney in 2000.

    "We also had a dismal season, although it was with a new team after the retirement of several Springboks the previous year," Reece-Edwards told Netwerk24.

    "We did have established guys like Chris Rossouw, Ollie le Roux and Mark Andrews, but there were also a lot of inexperienced guys.

    "They were, however, determined to resurrect things and stood together. The day we beat the Waratahs, the ball also bounced our way," he recalls the 26-19 victory.

    "If you want to win over there you have to believe in what you do and you need to be in control of what you do. Confidence is key to success on the rugby field.

    "Especially when it comes to defence, you have to trust the guys next to you," Reece-Edwards, who currently coaches in Japan, continued.

    Saturday's clash at Allianz Stadium kicks off at 11:40 (SA time).



    15 Israel Folau, 14 Taqele Naiyaravoro, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Rob Horne, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Stephan Hoiles, 5 Dave Dennis (captain), 4 Will Skelton, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tolu Latu, 1 Benn Robinson

    Substitutes: (three to be omitted): 16 Hugh Roach, 17 Jeremy Tilse, 18 Paddy Ryan, 19 Mitchell Chapman, 20 Jed Holloway, 21 Jack Dempsey, 22 Tala Gray, 23 Pat McCutcheon, 24 Brendan McKibbin, 25 Matt Carraro, 26 Peter Betham


    15. Lwazi Mvovo, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. JP Pietersen, 12. Frans Steyn, 11. S'bura Sithole, 10. Lionel Cronje, 9. Stefan Ungerer, 8. Renaldo Bothma, 7. Etienne Oosthuizen, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Marco Wentzel (captain), 4. Stephan Lewies, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis, 1. Tendai Mtawarira

    Substitutes: 16. Franco Marais, 17. Dale Chadwick, 18. Lourens Adriaanse , 19. Mouritz Botha, 20. Kyle Cooper, 21. Conrad Hoffmann, 22. Andre Esterhuizen, 23. Waylon Murray

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.