Duane set for 100th Super game

    2015-02-19 13:39
    Stormers captain Duane Vermeulen (Gallo Images)

    Cape Town - Stormers captain Duane Vermeulen will play his 100th Super Rugby match when he leads out his team against the Blues at Newlands on Saturday.

    It will be Vermeulen's 80th Super Rugby match for the Stormers, having also played 20 times for the Cheetahs between 2007 and 2008.

    The 28-year-old Springbok was earlier this year named as Stormers captain for the 2015 season, with regular skipper Jean de Villiers sidelined with a knee injury.

    The Stormers on Thursday made just one change to the starting team for their first home match of the 2015 Super Rugby season.

    Having opened their campaign with a clinical 29-17 win over the Bulls in Pretoria last weekend, Stormers head coach Allister Coetzee has wisely kept the changes to a minimum.

    In an enforced change, however, No 4 lock Jean Kleyn misses out with a calf muscle injury, handing a start to fellow young gun and lock-cum-flank Jurie van Vuuren - after the latter came off the bench at Loftus Versfeld.

    In a further change to the 23-man squad that played away last Saturday, fit-again Springbok loose forward Siya Kolisi comes in for Van Vuuren in the No 19 shirt.

    Saturday's clash kicks off at 17:05.



    15. Cheslin Kolbe, 14. Johnny Kotze, 13. Juan de Jongh, 12. Damian de Allende, 11. Dillyn Leyds, 10. Demetri Catrakilis, 9. Nic Groom, 8. Duane Vermeulen (captain), 7. Michael Rhodes, 6. Rynhardt Elstadt, 5. Ruan Botha, 4. Jurie van Vuuren, 3. Vincent Koch, 2. Scarra Ntubeni, 1. Steven Kitshoff

    Substitutes: 16. Bongi Mbonambi, 17. Oli Kebble, 18. Wilco Louw, 19. Siya Kolisi, 20. Nizaam Carr, 21. Louis Schreuder, 22. Kurt Coleman, 23. Huw Jones


    15 Charles Piutau, 14 Ben Lam, 13 Hamish Northcott, 12 Francis Saili, 11 Tevita Li/Lolagi Visinia, 10 Ihaia West, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Jerome Kaino (captain), 7 Brendon O'Connor/Luke Braid/Akira Ioane, 6 Steven Luatua, 5 Hayden Triggs/Patrick Tuipulotu, 4 Josh Bekhuis/Tuipulotu, 3 Angus Ta'avao/Charles Piutau, 2 James Parsons, 1 Tony Woodcock

    Substitutes (from): Matt Moulds, Greg Pleasants-Tate,  Ofa Tu'ungafasi, Sam Prattley, Charlie Faumuina, Angus Ta'avao, Patrick Tuipulotu/Triggs/Bekhuis, Braid/Iaone/O'Connor, Jamison Gibson-Park, Dan Bowden, Visinia/Li

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.