De Jongh leads Stormers in Sydney

    2015-04-09 10:40
    Juan de Jongh tackled by Aaron Cruden (Getty Images)

    Cape Town - Centre Juan de Jongh has recovered from an ankle injury and will lead the Stormers in their Super Rugby clash against the Waratahs in Sydney on Saturday.

    De Jongh was an 11th hour withdrawal from the team last weekend, but he is fit to take his place in the No 13 shirt this week and assume the leadership responsibilities in the absence of Duane Vermeulen, who is back in South Africa as part of the rest agreement with SA Rugby.

    Nizaam Carr returns to the No 8 position in place of Vermeulen in a new-look loose trio, which sees vice-captain Schalk Burger pack down at No 6 and Michael Rhodes making his first start (at No 7) since picking up a knee injury against the Lions at the end of February.

    Siya Kolisi drops to the bench after two successive starts on tour and will be joined amongst the replacements this week by prop Vincent Koch, lock Jean Kleyn and centre/wing Huw Jones.

    Koch makes way for Frans Malherbe in the No 3 shirt - in what will be Springbok tighthead prop Malherbe’s first start of 2015 - Kleyn comes in for Ruan Botha as the lock replacement and Jones reverts to the bench after an impressive starting debut in place of De Jongh last week.

    The Stormers and ‘Tahs have met on seven previous occasions in Sydney, with the hosts shading the head-to-head battle by four wins to three. In all, these teams have played against each other 17 times, with the Stormers winning seven and losing nine and the sides drawing once.

    Kick-off for Saturday’s clash is scheduled for 11:40 (SA time).



    15 Israel Folau, 14 Taqele Naiyaravoro, 13 Matt Carraro, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Rob Horne, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Jacques Potgieter, 5 David Dennis (captain), 4 Will Skelton, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tolu Latu, 1 Benn Robinson

    Substitutes (from): 16 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 17 Jeremy Tilse, 18 Paddy Ryan, 19 Mitchell Chapman, 20 Pat McCutcheon 21 Stephen Hoiles, 22 Brendan McKibbin, 23 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 24 Peter Betham, 25 Jono Lance


    15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Juan de Jongh (captain), 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Dillyn Leyds, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Manuel Carizza, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Steven Kitshoff

    Substitutes: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Oli Kebble, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Jean Kleyn, 20 Siya Kolisi, 21 Louis Schreuder, 22 Kurt Coleman, 23 Huw Jones

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.