Crusaders win Canberra thriller

    2015-06-13 09:23

    Wade Pretorius - Sport24

    Cape Town - The Crusaders finished off their topsy-turvey Super Rugby season with a brilliant 37-24 win against the Brumbies in Canberra.

    The Crusaders said farewell to Daniel Carter and Richie McCaw in style despite an early shock from the Brumbies as David Pocock gave the hosts an early lead with a try from a rolling maul.

    The Brumbies were unable to hold onto their lead for long as Nemani Nadolo proved to be unstoppable once again. The burly wing crossed the Brumbies line in the fifth minute to score for the fifth consecutive game.

    Matt Todd then joined Nadolo with that record in the 28th minute, in the process becoming the competition's first forward to score a try in five consecutive matches.

    The Crusaders led their hosts 21-10 at the break.

    The second half proved to be as action-packed as the first with the Brumbies fighting back to within three points with two tries through Jarrad Butler and a penalty try in the 65th minute.

    The boot of Dan Carter kept the Brumbies at bay and ensured a fitting send off for the All Black and Crusaders stalwart.

    Richie McCaw was denied a try on his last game with referee Jaco Peyper awarding a penalty try instead of crediting the Crusaders legend with the try.

    The Brumbies finish their campaign in 6th place and will face the Stormers in Cape Town next week if the Waratahs beat the Reds later on Saturday.

    The Crusaders won four of their last five games but missed out on the playoffs for the first time since 2001.



    Tries: 5' Nemani Nadolo, 28' Matt Todd, 37' Nemani Nadolo, 72' Penalty Try

    Conversions: 73' Daniel Carter

    Penalties: 11' Daniel Carter, 22' Daniel Carter, 42' Daniel Carter, 62' Daniel Carter, 79' Daniel Carter


    Tries: 2' David Pocock, 48' Jarrad Butler, 65' Penalty Try

    Conversions: 3' Christian Lealiifano, 49' Christian Lealiifano, 66' Christian Lealiifano

    Penalties: 16' Christian Lealiifano



    15 Jesse Mogg, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Robbie Coleman, 11 Joe Tomane, 10 Christian Lealiifano, 9 Nic White, 8 Ita Vaea, 7 David Pocock, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Blake Enever, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Stephen Moore (captain), 1 Scott Sio

    Substitutes: 16 Josh Mann-Rea, 17 Allan Alaalatoa, 18 Ruan Smith, 19 Jordan Smiler, 20 Jarrad Butler, 21 Michael Dowsett, 22 Matt Toomua, 23 James Dargaville


    15 Tom Taylor, 14 Jone Macilai, 13 Ryan Crotty, 12 David Havili, 11 Nemani Nadolo, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Andy Ellis, 8 Kieran Read (captain), 7 Richie McCaw, 6 Matt Todd, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Luke Romano, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Wyatt Crockett

    Substitutes: 16 Ben Funnell, 17 Alex Hodgman, 18 Nepo Laulala, 19 Jimmy Tupou, 20 Jordan Taufua, 21 Billy Guyton, 22 Colin Slade, 23 Nafi Tuitavake 

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.