Crusaders embarrass woeful Sharks

    2015-04-04 16:52

    Cape Town - The seven-time champion Crusaders have put the Sharks to the sword in their Super Rugby clash in Durban on Saturday.

    As it happened: Sharks v Crusaders

    The Crusaders won 52-10 after leading 28-3 at half-time.

    The Crusaders scored eight tries through scrumhalf Andrew Ellis, fullback Israel Dagg, centres Kieron Fonotia and Ryan Crotty, flyhalf Colin Slade, wing David Havili, flank Matt Todd and replacement Tom Taylor. Slade was also on target with five conversions for a personal haul of 15 points, while Taylor converted his own try.

    The Sharks replied with a try by wing Odwa Ndungane and conversion by replacement No 10 Fred Zeilinga and a penalty by Patrick Lambie.

    At one stage the Crusaders were down to 12 men, after referee Stuart Berry showed yellow cards to prop Nepo Laulala, Fonotia and wing Nemani Nadolo.

    However, the Sharks were their own worst enemies when flank Jean Deysel was shown a straight red card for a deliberate knee to the head of a prone opponent, reducing the home side to 14 men for the entire second half.

    The Crusaders picked up a full-house of five points for their victory, but stayed fourth in the New Zealand Conference. They did however move into sixth spot in the Overall standings.

    The Sharks left empty-handed, but stayed top of the South African Conference and third in the Overall log.

    In next weekend's Round 9 action, the Sharks travel to Johannesburg to face the Lions (Saturday, April 11 at 17:05), while the Crusaders head home to host the Highlanders (Saturday, April 11 at 09:35 SA time).



    15. SP Marais, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. JP Pietersen, 12. Andre Esterhuizen, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Pat Lambie (captain), 9. Cobus Reinach, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Jean Deysel, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Marco Wentzel, 4. Mouritz Botha, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Kyle Cooper, 1. Tendai Mtawarira

    Substitutes: 16. Franco Marais, 17. Thomas du Toit, 18. Matt Stevens, 19. Lubabalo Mtyanda, 20. Renaldo Bothma, 21. Conrad Hoffmann, 22. Fred Zeilinga, 23. Waylon Murray


    15 Israel Dagg, 14 David Havili, 13 Kieron Fonotia, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Nemani Nadolo, 10 Colin Slade, 9 Andy Ellis, 8 Kieran Read (captain), 7 Matt Todd, 6 Jordan Taufua, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Luke Romano, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Ben Funnell, 1 Wyatt Crockett

    Substitutes: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 Joe Moody, 18 Owen Franks, 19 Jimmy Tupou, 20 Richie McCaw, 21 Mitchell Drummond, 22 Tom Taylor, 23 Nafi Tuitavake

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk
    Most Read


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.