Crusaders see off Highlanders

    2013-04-20 11:28
    Christchurch - The Crusaders' forwards produced a masterclass to dominate the Highlanders and move back into contention for the playoffs with a 24-8 victory in their Super Rugby clash here on Saturday.

    The victory moved the seven-times champions side to 26 points to keep in touch with a group of five other teams contesting three playoffs positions. They had lost their previous two games to the Sharks and Force away.

    It was the eighth successive loss for the Highlanders, who are the only team not to have won a game this season.

    VIDEO: Crusaders v Highlanders, highlights

    The Crusaders dominated territory and possession despite having All Black prop Owen Franks sin-binned for fighting early in the game, destroying the Highlanders scrum and stealing lineout ball seemingly at will.

    The visitors' defence, however, was outstanding and restricted the Crusaders to three penalties from flyhalf Tyler Bleyendaal in the first half before centre Robbie Fruean crashed over in the final minute before the break.

    Bleyendaal converted to give the home side a 16-0 lead at the half.

    Fired up after the break, the Highlanders were rewarded when Jason Emery scored an early try after sustained buildup and a superb final pass from scrumhalf Aaron Smith that cut across four defenders and put the centre into space out wide.

    But the Highlanders' try only seemed to sharpen the Crusaders' focus and they clicked back into action to march downfield and set up Bleyendaal's fourth penalty for a 19-5 lead.

    Replacement Highlanders flyhalf Colin Slade slotted a long-range penalty to reduce the deficit but the Crusaders then camped inside the visitors' 22m area before cracking the desperate 'Landers defence when Tom Taylor went over in the corner, wrapping up the win with five minutes remaining.



    Tries: Robert Fruean, Tom Taylor

    Conversion: Tyler Bleyendaal

    Penalties: Bleyendaal (4)


    Try: Jason Emery

    Penalty: Colin Slade



    15 Israel Dagg, 14 Tom Marshall, 13 Robbie Fruean, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Zac Guildford, 10 Tyler Bleyendaal, 9 Andy Ellis, 8 Luke Whitelock, 7 Matt Todd, 6 George Whitelock (captain), 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Luke Romano, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Wyatt Crockett

    Substitutes: 16 Ben Funnell, 17 Joe Moody, 18 Dominic Bird, 19 Jordan Taufua, 20 Willi Heinz, 21 Tom Taylor, 22 Adam Whitelock


    15 Ben Smith, 14 Tony Ensor, 13 Jason Emery, 12 Ma'a Nonu, 11 Hosea Gear, 10 Hayden Parker, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 TJ Ioane, 7 John Hardie, 6 Jarrad Hoeata, 5 Josh Bekhuis, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Chris King, 2 Andrew Hore (captain), 1 Tony Woodcock

    Substitutes: 16 Liam Coltman, 17 Ma'afu Fia, 18 Jamie Mackintosh, 19 Elliot Dixon, 20 Fumiaka Tanaka, 21 Colin Slade, 22 Jake Paringatai

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.