Coetzee: This is not about me

    2015-06-19 15:04

    Lloyd Burnard - Sport24

    Cape Town - Even if the Stormers win Super Rugby this year, there is a very good chance that tomorrow’s playoff against the Brumbies will be coach Allister Coetzee’s last match at Newlands.

    If the Stormers beat the Brumbies they will travel to Sydney next weekend to do battle with the Waratahs, and if they win there then a Wellington final against the Hurricanes on July 4 is a likely scenario.

    Coetzee is off to Japan at the end of the season where he will take charge of the Kobelco Steelers, but he insists that there is no emotional element to Saturday’s crucial Brumbies clash.

    "I don’t see it as my last match at this point in time," Coetzee said.

    "It’s crucial that management have always been really calm when it comes to these kinds of things. It is important for us to give clear messages and give guidance to the team. It doesn’t matter, under pressure we must able not to be emotional.

    "It’s really not about me. This is about the Stormers quarter-final in 2015 and we would really like to advance to the next level."

    Coetzee joined the Stormers in 2008 and he has guided them to three playoff appearances in the last five Super Rugby seasons.

    Kick-off on Saturday is at 17:05.



    15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Dillyn Leyds, 13 Juan de Jongh (captain), 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Manuel Carizza, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Steven Kitshoff

    Substitutes: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Ali Vermaak, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Jean Kleyn, 20 Michael Rhodes, 21 Louis Schreuder, 22 Kurt Coleman, 23 Jaco Taute


    15 Jesse Mogg, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Robbie Coleman, 11 Joe Tomane, 10 Christian Lealiifano, 9 Nic White, 8 Ita Vaea, 7 David Pocock, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Blake Enever, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Stephen Moore (captain), 1 Scott Sio

    Substitutes (from): 16 Josh Mann-Rea, 17 Allan Alaalatoa, 18 Ruan Smith, 19 Jordan Smiler, 20 Jarrad Butler, 21 Michael Dowsett, 22 Matt Toomua, 23 James Dargaville, 24 Les Makin, 25 Nigel Ah Wong

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.