Coetzee: No sin if we don't rest Boks

    2015-06-04 15:28

    Lloyd Burnard - Sport24

    Cape Town - That Stormers coach Allister Coetzee has selected his best possible side for Saturday's Super Rugby clash against the Lions at Newlands speaks volumes about how highly he rates the Johannesburg outfit.

    The situation for both sides is quite simple. The Lions have to win to stand any chance of progressing to the playoffs, while the Stormers know that victory on Saturday will secure them top spot in the conference.

    Coetzee has included Eben Etzebeth, Duane Vermeulen, Frans Malherbe and Schalk Burger - who are all due another rest before the playoffs as per the SARU request in preparation for this year's World Cup - and says that he will take his selection week by week.

    The ideal situation would be for the Stormers to secure top spot in the conference on Saturday so that they could travel to Durban for a date with the Sharks able to rest players. But even then they might be in a position where they are still fighting for second place on the combined log.

    "What it means is that they are playing this weekend. We will then decide after this weekend," Coetzee said when asked if his selection meant that his Boks would rest against the Sharks.

    "There are quite a few permutations that we need to look at before we make a final decision on that, but it is not a sin if they play throughout."

    Kick-off on Saturday is at 17:05. 



    15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Dillyn Leyds, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Duane Vermeulen  (captain), 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Manuel Carizza, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Steven Kitshoff

    Substitutes: 16 Michael Willemse, 17 Oli Kebble, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Jean Kleyn, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Louis Schreuder, 22 Kurt Coleman, 23 Jaco Taute


    15. Andries Coetzee, 14. Ruan Combrinck, 13. Harold Vorster, 12. Alwyn Hollenbach, 11. Courtnall Skosan, 10. Elton Jantjies, 9. Faf de Klerk, 8. Warren Whiteley (captain), 7. Warwick Tecklenburg, 6. Jaco Kriel, 5.  Franco Mostert, 4. Martin Muller, 3. Julian Redelinghuys, 2. Armand van der Merwe, 1. Schalk van der Merwe

    Substitutes: 16. Malcolm Marx, 17. Corne Fourie, 18. Ruan Dreyer, 19. Robert Kruger, 20. Kwagga Smith, 21. Dillon Smit, 22. Marnitz Boshoff, 23. Howard Mnisi

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.