Chiefs unchanged for S15 final

    2013-08-01 07:25
    Wellington - The Chiefs have named an unchanged team for Saturday's Super Rugby final against the Brumbies, though fitness doubts remain over winger Lelia Masaga.

    Masaga, who was a try-scorer in the Chiefs' 20-19 semifinal win over the Crusaders, has an ankle injury and has been bracketed on the right wing with Robbie Robinson.

    Coach Dave Rennie has maintained the midfield pairing of Andrew Horrell and Charlie Ngatai and chosen prop Ben Tameifuna to start ahead of Ben Afeaki.

    Masaga, captain Craig Clarke and prop Toby Smith will all play their last matches for the Hamilton-based Chiefs before taking up contracts in Europe.

    Rennie said "we want to send these outstanding Chiefs men out on a high with back to back titles."


    Chiefs: 15 Gareth Anscombe, 14 Lelia Masaga or Robbie Robinson, 13 Charlie Ngatai, 12 Andrew Horrell, 11 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Matt Vant Leven, 7 Tanerau Latimer, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Craig Clarke (captain), 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Hika Elliot, 1 Toby Smith.

    Substitutes: 16 Rhys Marshall, 17 Ben Afeaki, 18 Michael Fitzgerald, 19 Sam Cane, 20 Augustine Pulu, 21 Bundee Aki, 22 Robbie Robinson or Patrick Osborne.



    Read More On:  chiefs super 15 rugby

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.