Chiefs flyer in Samoa's RWC squad

    2015-04-29 09:36

    Cape Town - The Manu Samoa selectors have named 58 players in their wider training group and selection pool for the 2015 campaign, including the Rugby World Cup.

    Chiefs utility back Tim Nanai-Williams has been included but will need to play in one more round of the Sevens World Series to become eligible for next year's Olympics in Rio de Janeiro and Rugby World Cup in England and Wales later this year.

    Having appeared in three of the four world circuit rounds he needs to play to switch his eligibility from New Zealand to Samoa, he will play the last one of those tournaments for Samoa in Glasgow, in May, when the Chiefs have their second bye.

    Other notable inclusions in the squad are Newcastle flyer Sinoti Sinoti and Bordeaux's Peter Saili, who left the Blues shortly before the Super Rugby season in order to go to France.

    A squad of 38 to face the All Blacks and for the Pacific Nations Cup will be named in early June.

    The final squad of 31 to travel to the US (for the Nations Cup) will be named on July 9, the day after the All Blacks match in Apia.

    Samoa squad:

    Forwards: Albert Anae (Treviso), Aniseko Sio (Leicester Tigers), Anthony Perenise (Bristol), Jake Grey (Samoa A), James Johnston (Saracens), Logovii Mulipola (Leicester Tigers), Sakaria Taulafo (Stade Francais), Viliamu Afatia (Agen), Andrew Williams (Samoa A), Maatulimanu Leiataua (Aurillac), Tii Paulo (Clermont), Wayne Ole Avei (Bordeaux), Teofilo Paulo (Cardiff Blues), Maselino Paulino (Samoa A), Kane Thompson (Newcastle Falcons), Iosefa Tekori (Toulouse), Faatiga Lemalu (Sannix Blues), Daniel Leo (London Irish), Alafoti Faosiliva (Bath), Faifili Levave (Toyota), Francis Ieremia (Samoa A), Jack Lam (Bristol), Maurie Fa’asavalu (Oyonnax), Ofisa Treviranus (London Irish), Oneone Faafou (Samoa A), Peter Saili (Bordeaux), Peter Semeane (Samoa A), Taiasina Tuifua (Bordeaux), Tala James Ioane (Sale Sharks), Vavae Tuilagi (Carcassonne)

    Backs: Jack Taulapapa (Wellington), Kahn Fotuali’i (Northampton), Peleifofoga Cowley (Auckland), Vavao Afemai (Samoa A), Michael Stanley (Ulster), Patrick Fa’apale (Samoa A), Tusiata Pisi (Suntory), Alapati Leiua (Wasps), Anitelea Tuilagi (Newcastle), Faialaga Afamasaga (Samoa A), Faleniu Iosi (Samoa A), George Pisi (Northampton), Johnny Leota (Sale), Reynold Lee Lo (Hurricanes), Winston Stanley (Northland), Ah See Tuala (Northampton), Alesana Tuilagi (Newcastle), Alofa Alofa (La Rochelle), David Lemi (Bristol), Ken Pisi (Northampton), Paul Perez (Natal Sharks), Sailosi Tagicakibau (Wasps), Sinoti Sinoti (Newcastle), Henry Suau’u (Samoa A), Faatoina Autagavaia (Nevers), Paul Williams (Stade Francais), Tim Nanai Williams (Chiefs), Titi Esau (Samoa A)

    Read More On:  chiefs rwc 2015 super 15 rugby

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.