Chiefs down Blues in Auckland

    2015-02-14 10:19

    Auckland - Sonny Bill Williams inspired the Chiefs to a 23-18 win over the Blues on Saturday, the club's eighth straight victory over their New Zealand rivals.

    The Chiefs stunned the Blues with two tries in the first 15 minutes, both set up by Williams, who is back at the club this season after two years playing rugby league in Australia.

    The Blues kept in touch through the boot of Ihaia West, who scored a club record six penalties, but solid Chiefs defence stopped them crossing the line in the second half.

    "Those two early tries came back to bite us," Blues captain Jerome Kaino said.

    "We were better in the second half, did the basics well but the Chiefs just plugged the corners and kept us tryless."

    The match began at a furious pace, with Williams in the thick of the action.

    For the first try, his quick offload released James Lowe down the sideline, with the winger evading two tacklers to touch down for five points.

    The second, three minutes later, involved Williams beating three onrushing defenders to a high ball and setting up rookie winger Bryce Heem for a try on his Super rugby debut.

    The Chiefs went into half-time up 20-9 but managed only a single penalty after the restart as the much-improved Blues put them on the defensive.

    West kept the scoreboard ticking over with three-pointers, narrowing the gap to five points with 10 minutes to go.

    They had chances but handling errors and some stinging tackles from the Chiefs saw the Auckland team continue their losing streak.


    Blues - Penalties: Ihaia West (6).

    Chiefs - Tries: James Lowe, Bryce Heem. Conversions: Damian McKenzie (2). Penalties: McKenzie (3).


    15 Lolagi Visinia, 14 Charles Piutau, 13 George Moala/Hamish Northcot, 12 Francis Saili, 11 Tevita Li, 10 Ihaia West, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Jerome Kaino (captain), 7 Brendon O'Connor, 6 Steven Luatua, 5 Hayden Triggs, 4 Josh Bekhuis, 3 Angus Ta’avao, 2 James Parsons, 1 Tony Woodcock.

    Substitutes: 16 Matt Moulds, 17 Ofa Tu’ungafasi, 18 Charlie Faumuina, 19 Akira Ioane, 20 Luke Braid, 21 Jamison Gibson-Park, 22 Simon Hickey, 23 Hamish Northcott/Ben Lam

    15 Tom Marshall, 14 Tim Nanai-Williams, 13 Charlie Ngatai, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 James Lowe, 10 Damian McKenzie, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Maama Vaipulu, 7 Sam Cane, 6 Johan Bardoul, 5 Mike Fitzgerald, 4 Matt Symons (captain), 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Hika Elliot, 1 Pauliasi Manu

    Substitutes: 16 Rhys Marshall, 17 Jamie Mackintosh, 18 Siate Tokolahi, 19 Michael Allardice, 20 Tevita Koloamatangi, 21 Augustine Pulu, 22 Marty McKenzie, 23 Bryce Heem

    Read More On:  chiefs super 15 rugby

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    1 comment
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.