Cheetahs stun Stormers in Bloem

    2015-05-02 18:52

    Bloemfontein - A late try from fullback Clayton Blommetjies handed the Cheetahs a 25-17 victory over South African conference leaders the Stormers in a Super Rugby clash on Saturday.

    As it happened: Cheetahs 25 - 17 Stormers

    The Cheetahs led 18-10 at half-time after two tries in four minutes midway through the opening period.

    Centre Michael van der Spuy and wing Rayno Benjamin dived over while flyhalf Joe Pietersen added a conversion and two penalties.

    Wing Dillyn Leyds scored the Stormers' only try of the first half and when captain Duane Vermeulen barged over on 55 minutes they closed the deficit to one point.

    With ascendancy in the scrum, the visitors applied enormous pressure on the Cheetahs in an attempt to grab the lead but saw their hopes fade as Blommetjies sprinted clear to score.

    The Stormers' replacement flyhalf Kurt Coleman missed four kickable penalties in the second half.

    Coleman and the man he replaced, Demetri Catrakilis, booted a conversion each while the latter also landed a penalty.


    Cheetahs – Tries: Michael van der Spuy, Rayno Benjamin and Clayton Blommetjies; Conversions: Joe Pietersen 2; Penalties: Joe Pietersen 2.

    Stormers - Tries: Dillyn Leyds and Duane Vermeulen; Conversions: Demetri Catrakilis and Kurt Coleman; Penalty: Demetri Catrakilis.



    15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Rayno Benjamin, 13 Francois Venter, 12 Michael van der Spuy, 11 Sergeal Petersen, 10 Joe Pietersen, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Willie Britz, 7 Boom Prinsloo, 6 Tienie Burger, 5 Francois Uys (captain), 4 Carl Wegner, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen/Maks van Dyk, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1 Caylib Oosthuizen.

    Substitutes: 16 Stephan Coetzee, 17 Dolph Botha, 18 Maks van Dyk/Ewald van der Westhuizen, 19 Steven Sykes, 20 Carel Greeff, 21 Tian Meyer, 22 Francois Brummer, 23 Danie Dames


    15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Johnny Kotze, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Dillyn Leyds, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Duane Vermeulen (captain), 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Oli Kebble

    Substitutes:16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Ali Vermaak, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Manuel Carizza, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Louis Schreuder, 22 Kurt Coleman, 23 Huw Jones

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.