Cheetahs embarrass woeful Bulls

    2015-06-13 18:52

    Cape Town - The Bulls' woeful Super Rugby season came to a disappointing end when they crashed to defeat against the Cheetahs at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday.

    As it happened: Bulls v Cheetahs

    The Cheetahs won 42-29 after leading 28-10 at half-time.

    The Cheetahs scored six tries through No 8 Niell Jordaan, flank Henco Venter, wing Clayton Blommetjies, scrumhalf Sarel Pretorius, replacement lock Seven Sykes and centre Rayno Benjamin. Flyhalf Niel Marais converted all six tries.

    The Bulls replied with tries by fullback Jesse Kriel, wing Francois Hougaard (2) and No 8 Pierre Spies. Flyhalf Jacques-Louis Potgieter landed a conversion, while his replacement Tian Schoeman was on target with two.

    The Cheetahs picked up a full-house of five points for their victory, but stayed bottom of the South African Conference. They did however finish the season in 12th-place in the Overall standings.

    The Bulls picked a point for scoring four tries, but stayed third in the South African Conference and ninth in the Overall log.

    With as many as 10 players departing Pretoria next season, the Bulls have a mountain to climb to remain their once proud tradition at the summit of Super Rugby.



    15 Jesse Kriel, 14 Francois Hougaard, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Burger Odendaal, 11 Travis Ismaiel, 10 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 9 Rudy Paige, 8 Pierre Spies (captain), 7 Jacques du Plessis, 6 Arno Botha, 5 Grant Hattingh, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Marcel van der Merwe, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Morné Mellett

    Substitutes: 16 Callie Visagie, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Nicolaas Janse van Rensburg, 19 Roelof Smit, 20 Bjorn Basson, 21 Tian Schoeman, 22 Jurgen Visser, 23 Werner Kruger


    15 Willie le Roux, 14 Clayton Blommetjies, 13 Francois Venter, 12 Rayno Benjamin, 11 Sergeal Petersen, 10 Niel Marais, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Niell Jordaan, 7 Henco Venter, 6 Boom Prinsloo, 5 Francois Uys (captain), 4 Carl Wegner, 3 Maks van Dyk, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1 BG Uys

    Substitutes: 16 Elandré Huggett, 17 Danie Mienie, 18 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 19 Seven Sykes, 20 Gerhard Olivier, 21 Oupa Mohoje, 22 Renier Botha, 23 Coenie van Wyk

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.