Chance for Hendricks to impress Meyer

    2015-05-21 10:18

    Cape Town - Cornal Hendricks gets a chance in the Cheetahs starting team to stake a claim for a spot in the Springbok squad.

    The right wing has been sidelined in recent weeks with tonsillitis but will get a chance to start for the Cheetahs when they host the Lions in a Super Rugby derby in Bloemfontein on Saturday.

    He replaces Sergeal Petersen, who started in the Cheetahs’ last two games against the Highlanders and Stormers.

    Hendricks, who became a Springbok last year, will have to make full use of his opportunity if he is to remain in Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer’s plans.

    Therefore, the Cheetahs have opted to give him that opportunity, according to backline coach Hawies Fourie.

    “Sergeal’s had two good games, especially against the Stormers. He made two errors on defence against the Highlanders this past weekend, but the rest of his game was good. His work ethic is good and his defence is not bad overall. He just made two wrong decisions against the Highlanders,” Fourie told Netwerk24.

    Left wing Raymond Rhule also earned a starting spot for Saturday’s clash, while Petersen has been left out of the match-day squad.

    “Cornal and Raymond know Sergeal is hot on their heels.”

    Kick-off for Saturday’s clash at Free State Stadium is scheduled for 17:05.



    15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Francois Venter, 12 Michael van der Spuy, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Francois Brummer, 9 Tian Meyer, 8 Willie Britz, 7 Boom Prinsloo, 6 Carel Greeff, 5 Francois Uys (captain), 4 Carl Wegner, 3 Maks van Dyk, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1 Danie Minnie

    Substitutes: 16 Stephan Coetzee, 17 BG Uys, 18 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 19 Steven Sykes, 20 Henco Venter, 21 Shaun Venter, 22 Coenie van Wyk, 23 Rayno Benjamin


    15. Andries Coetzee, 14. Ruan Combrinck, 13. Lionel Mapoe, 12. Howard Mnisi, 11. Courtnall Skosan , 10. Elton Jantjies, 9. Faf de Klerk, 8. Warren Whiteley (captain), 7. Warwick Tecklenburg, 6.  Jaco Kriel, 5. Martin Muller, 4. Andries Ferreira, 3. Ruan Dreyer, 2. Robbie Coetzee, 1.  Jacques van Rooyen

    Substitutes: 16. Armand van der Merwe, 17. Schalk van der Merwe, 18. Julian Redelinghuys, 19. Franco Mostert, 20. Robert Kruger, 21. Ross Cronje, 22. Jaco van der Walt, 23. Harold Vorster

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.