Centre role excites Jantjies

    2015-03-19 10:10

    Melbourne - Elton Jantjies says he’s excited to play at inside centre when the Lions face the Melbourne Rebels in a Super Rugby clash on Friday.

    Lions head coach Johan Ackermann made a surprise selection when he named both regular flyhalves Marnitz Boshoff and Elton Jantjies in his starting line-up. Boshoff will feature in the No 10 jersey, while Jantjies was named at inside centre.

    Jantjies said he is prepared to play a new role for his team for this weekend’s Super Rugby clash.

    “I’m just embracing the challenge. I’m here to do what’s best for the team,” Jantjies told “Running at inside centre is part of how we want to play this weekend’s game.

    “I’ve played some minutes at No 12 before. I’m really looking forward to playing there and just be the link and the core among the backs. We are prepared for this weekend’s game.”

    The Lions come off a disappointing 34-6 loss to the Crusaders in Christchurch, but Jantjies is confident that the team will bounce back in Melbourne.

    “I know the mood and spirit of the guys remains positive. We have that hunger to perform,” said Jantjies. “We just need to work on the areas where we lack last week.

    “We have played some good rugby this season, but we definitely want to lift our game against a side like the Rebels, who are known as a team with a lot of character and they don’t give up easily.

    “We have worked hard on our game during our preparations, so we hope to execute those plans properly. If we achieve this, we will get the right results. All we need to do is focus on ourselves and to follow our game plan.”



    15 Jonah Placid, 14 Dom Shipperley, 13 Tamati Ellison, 12 Mitch Inman, 11 Tom English, 10 Mike Harris, 9 Nic Stirzaker, 8 Scott Higginbotham (captain), 7 Scott Fuglistaller, 6 Sean McMahon, 5 Lopeti Timani, 4 Luke Jones, 3 Laurie Weeks, 2 Pat Leafa, 1 Toby Smith.

    Substitutes: 16 Tom Sexton, 17 Cruze Ah-Nau, 18 Paul Alo-Emile, 19 Steve Cummins, 20 Colby Fainga’a, 21 Luke Burgess, 22 Bryce Hegarty, 23 Sefanaia Naivalu


    15. Jaco van der Walt, 14. Sampie Mastriet, 13. Lionel Mapoe, 12. Elton Jantjies, 11. Courtnall Skosan, 10. Marnitz Boshoff, 9. Faf de Klerk, 8. Warren Whiteley (captain), 7. Warwick Tecklenburg, 6. Derick Minnie, 5. Franco Mostert, 4. Robert Kruger, 3. Ruan Dreyer, 2. Armand van der Merwe, 1. Schalk van der Merwe

    Substitutes: 16. Robbie Coetzee, 17. Corne Fourie, 18. Julian Redelinghuys, 19. Andries Ferreira, 20. Jaco Kriel, 21. Ross Cronje, 22. Harold Vorster, 23. Andries Coetzee

    For more exclusive player content, check out

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.