Bulls sneak win at the death

    2015-03-21 18:56

    Pretoria - Bulls flyhalf Handre Pollard landed a penalty from almost halfway  in the final minute as they escaped with a narrow 25-24 victory over Australia's Western Force in their Super Rugby clash at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday.

    As it happened: Bulls v Force

    It looked as though the visitors would grab a famous win when flyhalf Sias Ebersohn struck a 60m penalty three minutes from time to give them the lead.

    Yet there was more late drama as the Bulls collected a penalty for a tip-tackle on Pollard and the Springbok flyhalf picked himself up to convert easily, with his long-range kick sailing through the thin Highveld air.

    Prop Marcel van der Merwe scored the Bulls' only try of the game at a time when their opponents had been reduced to 13 men following yellow cards for lock Adam Coleman and prop Tetera Faulkner within a minute of each other, in both instances for infringing at the maul.

    Pollard converted that try and added six more penalties to edge his side in front at the death after they led 9-7 at the break.

    The Force's points came from tries by Coleman, his fellow lock Sam Wykes and centre Kyle Godwin, with Luke Burton converting the first two and Ebersohn the third.



    Try: Marcel van der Merwe

    Conversion: Handre Pollard

    Penalties: Pollard (6)


    Tries: Adam Coleman, Sam Wykes, Kyle Godwin

    Conversions: Luke Burton (2), Sias Ebersohn

    Penalty: Ebersohn   



    15. Jesse Kriel, 14. Francois Hougaard, 13. JJ Engelbrecht, 12. Jan Serfontein, 11. Bjorn Basson, 10. Handre Pollard, 9. Rudy Paige, 8. Pierre Spies (captain), 7. Lappies Labuschagne, 6. Deon Stegmann, 5. Grant Hattingh, 4. Jacques du Plessis, 3. Marcel van der Merwe, 2. Adriaan Strauss, 1. Dean Greyling

    Substitutes: 16. Jaco Visagie, 17. Morne Mellett, 18. Trevor Nyakane, 19. Victor Matfield, 20. Arno Botha, 21. Piet van Zyl, 22. Tian Schoeman, 23. Jurgen Visser


    15 Luke Morahan, 14 Marcel Brache, 13 Kyle Godwin, 12 Luke Burton, 11 Nick Cummins, 10 Sias Ebersohn, 9 Alby Mathewson, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 Kane Koteka, 6 Steve Mafi, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Sam Wykes (captain), 3 Tetera Faulkner, 2 Nathan Charles, 1 Pekahou Cowan

    Substitutes: 16 Heath Tessmann, 17 Chris Heiberg, 18 Oliver Hoskins/Guy Millar, 19 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 20 Angus Cottrell, 21 Ian Prior, 22 Zack Holmes, 23 Solomoni Jnr Rasolea

    Read More On:  bulls force super 15 pretoria rugby

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.