Bulls go down in Dunedin

    2014-04-11 11:18

    Garrin Lambley - Sport24 Editor

    Cape Town - The Bulls lost the second match on their Australasian tour against the Highlanders at the Forsyth Barr stadium in Dunedin on Friday.

    AS IT HAPPENED: Highlanders v Bulls

    The Highlanders won 27-20 after the scores were dead-locked at 13-all at half-time.

    The Highlanders scored three tries through flyhalf Lima Sopoaga, flank Gareth Evans and centre Malakai Fekitoa. Sopoaga was also on target with all three conversions as well as two penalties for a personal haul of 17 points.

    The Bulls replied with tries by wing Bjorn Basson and replacement prop Marcel van der Merwe, as well as two conversions and two penalties by flyhalf Jacques-Louis Potgieter.

    The Highlanders picked up four points for their victory and moved to second in the New Zealand Conference and fifth in the Overall standings.

    The Bulls picked up a losing bonus point for going down by seven or fewer points, but stayed second in the South African Conference. They did however slip to seventh in the Overall log.

    In next weekend's Round 10 action, the Highlanders have a bye, while the Bulls travel to Sydney to face the Waratahs (Saturday, April 19 at 11:40).



    15 Ben Smith (captain), 14 Richard Buckman, 13 Malakai Fekitoa, 12 Shaun Treeby, 11 Patrick Osborne, 10 Lima Sopoaga, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Elliot Dixon, 7 Shane Christie, 6 Gareth Evans, 5 Joe Wheeler, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Chris King, 2 Liam Coltman, 1 Kane Hames

    Substitutes: 16 Ged Robinson, 17 Craig Millar, 18 Ma'afu Fia, 19 Jarrad Hoeata, 20 John Hardie, 21 Fumiaki Tanaka, 22 Trent Renata, 23 Nasi Manu


    15 Jurgen Visser, 14 Bjorn Basson, 13 Johannes Engelbrecht, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 9 Pieter van Zyl, 8 Grant Hattingh, 7 Jacques du Plessis, 6 Jono Ross, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Flip van der Merwe (captain), 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Callie Visagie, 1 Dean Greyling

    Substitutes:16 Mbongeni Mbonambi, 17 Marcel van der Merwe, 18 Paul Willemse, 19 Morné Mellet, 20 Jacques Engelbrecht, 21 Handré Pollard, 22 William Small-Smith, 23 Ulrich Beyers

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.