Bulls get SA ref - in Canberra

    2015-05-26 11:07

    Cape Town - The Bulls will have a South African referee when they tackle the Brumbies in a Super Rugby clash in Canberra on Friday.

    Marius van der Westhuizen has been selected to take charge of the clash at GIO Stadium (11:40). He will be assisted by Rohan Hoffmann and Ed Martin, with Ian Smith on Television Match Official (TMO) duty.

    Friday night's game between the Sharks and Rebels (19:10) will be refereed by Jaco van Heerden. He will be assisted by Rodney Boneparte and Ben Crouse, with Marius Jonker the TMO.

    In Saturday's matches involving South African teams, Craig Joubert will referee the SA derby between the Stormers and Cheetahs at Newlands (17:05). Joubert will be assisted by Jason Jaftha and Francois Pretorius, with Deon van Blommestein on TMO duty.

    The later game between the Lions and Waratahs in Johannesburg (19:10) will be refereed by Jaco Peyper. He will be assisted by Jaco van Heerden and Pro Legoete, with Johan Greeff the TMO.

    Round 16 Super Rugby referee appointments:

    Friday, May 29

    Crusaders v Hurricanes, Nelson - 09:35

    Referee - Ben O'Keeffe

    AR1 - Kane McBride

    AR2 - Richard Kelly

    TMO - Chris Wratt

    Brumbies v Bulls, Canberra- 11:40

    Referee Marius van der Westhuizen

    AR1 - Rohan Hoffmann

    AR2 - Ed Martin

    TMO - Ian Smith

    Sharks v Rebels, Durban - 19:10

    Referee - Jaco van Heerden

    AR1 - Rodney Boneparte

    AR2 - Ben Crouse

    TMO - Marius Jonker

    Saturday, May 30

    Highlanders v Chiefs, Invercargill - 09:35

    Referee - Nick Briant

    AR1 - Shane McDermott

    AR2 - Mike Lash

    TMO - Glenn Newman

    Force v Reds, Perth -11:40

    Referee - Matt O'Brien

    AR1 - Damien Mitchelmore

    AR2 - Michael Hogan

    TMO - Peter Marshall

    Stormers v Cheetahs, Cape Town - 17:05

    Referee - Craig Joubert

    AR1 - Jason Jaftha

    AR2 - Francois Pretorius

    TMO - Deon van Blommestein

    Lions v Waratahs, Johannesburg - 19:10

    Referee - Jaco Peyper

    AR1 - Jaco van Heerden

    AR2 - Pro Legoete

    TMO - Johan Greeff

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.