Bulls crash out of playoff contention

    2015-06-06 09:20

    Cape Town - The Bulls ended their Australasian tour winless and saw their hopes of reaching this year's Super Rugby playoffs extinguished when they crashed to defeat against the Rebels in Melbourne on Saturday.

    As it happened: Rebels v Bulls

    The Rebels won 21-20 after the Bulls led 17-14 at half-time.

    The Rebels scored three tries through flank Sean McMahon, flyhalf Jack Debreczeni and lock Lopeti Timani. Fullback Mike Harris was on target with all three conversions.

    The Bulls replied with tries by prop Dean Greyling and flank Lappies Labuschagne. Flyhalf Jacques-Louis Potgieter added both conversions and two penalties.

    The Rebels picked up four points for their victory, but stayed third in the Australian Conference and 10th in the Overall standings.

    The Bulls picked up a single point for losing by seven or fewer points, but stayed third in the South African Conference. They did however move temporarily into eighth spot in the Overall log, but too far adrift of any possibility of reaching the playoffs and adding a fourth Super Rugby title to their collection.

    In next weekend's Round 18 action, the Rebels host the Force in Melbourne (Friday, June 12 at 11:40), while the Bulls welcome the Cheetahs to Loftus Versfeld (Saturday, June 13 at 17:05).



    15 Mike Harris, 14 Dom Shipperley, 13 Tamati Ellison, 12 Mitch Inman, 11 Cam Crawford, 10 Jack Debreczeni, 9 Nic Stirzaker, 8 Scott Higginbotham (captain), 7 Colby Fainga’a, 6 Sean McMahon, 5 Lopeti Timani, 4 Luke Jones, 3 Paul Alo-Emile, 2 Pat Leafa, 1 Toby Smith

    Substitutes: 16 Tom Sexton, 17 Cruze Ah-Nau, 18 Tim Metcher, 19 Sam Jeffries, 20 Jordy Reid, 21 Ben Meehan, 22 Bryce Hegarty, 23 Tom English


    15 Jesse Kriel, 14 Francois Hougaard, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Burger Odendaal, 11 Travis Ismaiel, 10 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 9 Rudy Paige, 8 Pierre Spies (captain), 7 Jacques du Plessis, 6 Lappies Labuschagne, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Marcel van der Merwe, 2 Callie Visagie, 1 Dean Greyling

    Substitutes: 16 Jaco Visagie, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Werner Kruger, 19 Grant Hattingh, 20 Arno Botha, 21 Tian Schoeman, 22 Bjorn Basson, 23 Jurgen Visser

    Read More On:  rebels bulls super 15 pretoria rugby

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.