Bulls give Matfield a break

    2015-03-19 11:51

    Pretoria - Marcel van der Merwe and Dean Greyling will earn first starts in the 2015 Super Rugby competition as Bulls coach Frans Ludeke made three changes to his pack that will face the Western Force at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday.

    Van der Merwe and Greyling, who both made late starts to the competition due to injury, will swop places with Trevor Nyakane and Morne Mellett respectively. In another change, Grant Hattingh will earn his first start of the season, with Victor Matfield moving to the bench.

    The bench also have two new faces this week, with Arno Botha returning and Jaco Visagie replacing the injured Callie Visagie. Should he take to the field, Visagie will make his Bulls and Super Rugby debut.

    Botha, who was injured in the season's opener against the Stormers, is fit again and replaces Hanro Liebenberg.

    Ludeke left his backline unchanged.

    "We are good to go after a week's rest and determined to maintain the momentum the last two wins have created," said Ludeke said. "We have made some changes to the pack, but it’s part of the rotational policy. All three players deserve a start. We are also happy to see Arno back in full force.”

    Bulls captain, Pierre Spies, warned that the Force cannot be underestimated, given the closeness of results between the teams in the past.

    "We always seem to be in tight matches against each other. The trick for us will be to play the big moments better and to execute whenever we create scoring opportunities."

    Kick-off for Saturday’s clash is scheduled for 17:05.



    15. Jesse Kriel, 14. Francois Hougaard, 13. JJ Engelbrecht, 12. Jan Serfontein, 11. Bjorn Basson, 10. Handre Pollard, 9. Rudy Paige, 8. Pierre Spies (captain), 7. Lappies Labuschagne, 6. Deon Stegmann, 5. Grant Hattingh, 4. Jacques du Plessis, 3. Marcel van der Merwe, 2. Adriaan Strauss, 1. Dean Greyling

    Substitutes: 16. Jaco Visagie, 17. Morne Mellett, 18. Trevor Nyakane, 19. Victor Matfield, 20. Arno Botha, 21. Piet van Zyl, 22. Tian Schoeman, 23. Jurgen Visser


    15 Luke Morahan, 14 Marcel Brache, 13 Kyle Godwin, 12 Luke Burton, 11 Nick Cummins, 10 Sias Ebersohn, 9 Alby Mathewson, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 Kane Koteka, 6 Steve Mafi, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Sam Wykes (captain), 3 Tetera Faulkner, 2 Nathan Charles, 1 Pekahou Cowan

    Substitues: 16 Heath Tessmann, 17 Chris Heiberg, 18 Oliver Hoskins/Guy Millar, 19 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 20 Angus Cottrell, 21 Ian Prior, 22 Zack Holmes, 23 Solomoni Jnr Rasolea

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.