Brumbies late-show stuns Bulls

    2013-07-27 18:59
    Pretoria - A last minute try by Brumbies centre Tevita Kuridrani saw the Bulls go down 26-23 in their Super Rugby semi-final at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday.

    The battle among the forwards was always going to be the deciding factor in the match, with the tourists enjoying the upper-hand in this department for most of the match.

    The first 10 minutes belonged to the Brumbies as they put 10 points on the board in this period to leave the Bulls reeling.

    As it happened: Bulls v Brumbies

    VIDEO: Bulls v Brumbies, highlights

    The Australians fired the opening salvo as inside centre Christian Lealiifano succeeding with a penalty three minutes into the match.

    The visitors further showed their intent to dominate the set phases as they out-muscled the Bulls in the first scrum of the match in the fifth minute, enforcing a penalty from a kickable position.

    Lealiifano pulled his penalty attempt to the right that would have given his team a psychological six-point lead early in the match.

    The missed opportunity, however, came at a small price as they found their way over the whitewash three minutes later to score the first try of the evening.

    Dangerman Henry Speight lived up to his reputation as playmaker and showed up the Bulls’ defence.

    When he was finally chased down, he managed to offload to fullback Jesse Mogg to score the try, with Lealiifano converting, to extend their lead to 10 points.

    The Bulls’ plight was further complicated with Steyn missing his first attempt at goal in the 14th minute.

    Two minutes later the Bulls reduced the deficit when outside centre JJ Engelbrecht powered his way over the tryline, with Steyn’s attempt going wide of the posts.

    The Bulls flyhalf finally found the target in the 22nd minute to bring his side within two points of the Brumbies.

    However, the visitors pulled back another three points with Lealiifano succeeding with his attempt, while the Bulls responded with three points of their own 10 minutes from the half-time break.

    Lealiifano had the final say in the first half with the No 12 bringing an end to the tit-for-tat kicking to hand his side a five-point lead going into the break.

    The Bulls started the second period with great intent and came painstakingly close to scoring shortly after the kickoff with Grant Hattingh being held up over the line.

    Steyn, however, gathered the three points through a penalty conversion to again get his side within two points of the Brumbies.

    The Bulls flyhalf and Lealiifano continued to exchange kicking duties two more times until the hosts took the lead for the first time in the match in the 51st minute when Steyn landed his sixth penalty of the game.

    The plot, however, reached farcical levels as Bulls captain Dewald Potgieter opted to go for the sideline rather than going for the points on three occasions.

    All three times the Bulls failed in their attempt to score from the lineout and it ultimately backfired for the Pretoria side.

    Potgieter’s earlier doubtful decisions, however, came back to haunt him as Brumbies outside centre Tevita Kuridrani crossed the whitewash to silence the Loftus faithful, with Lealiifano ending the scoring as he started it, with a conversion.

    The Brumbies will now face the Chiefs in the final in Hamilton next Saturday.



    Try: JJ Engelbrecht

    Penalties: Morné Steyn (6).


    Tries: Jesse Mogg, Tevita Kuridrani

    Conversions: Christian Lealiifano (2)

    Penalties: Lealiifano (4).



    15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Dewald Potgieter (captain), 7 Jacques Potgieter, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Grant Hattingh, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Dean Greyling

    Substitutes: 16 Callie Visagie, 17 Frik Kirsten, 18 Morne Mellett, 19 Paul Willemse, 20 Jono Ross, 21 Jano Vermaak, 22 Jürgen Visser


    15. Jesse Mogg, 14. Henry Speight, 13. Tevita Kuridrani, 12. Christian Lealiifano, 11. Clyde Rathbone, 10. Matt Toomua, 9. Nic White, 8. Ben Mowen (captain), 7. George Smith, 6. Peter Kimlin, 5. Sam Carter, 4. Scott Fardy, 3. Ben Alexander, 2. Stephen Moore, 1. Scott Sio

    Substitutes: 16. Siliva Siliva, 17. Ruan Smith, 18. Fotu Auelua, 19. Colby Faingaa, 20. Ian Prior, 21. Andrew Smith, 22. Joe Tomane

    Read More On:  bulls brumbies super 15 rugby

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.