Brave Kings draw in Canberra

    2013-04-05 12:23

    Garrin Lambley - Sport24 Editor

    Cape Town - The Kings put in a spirited performance against the table-topping Brumbies, drawing their match thanks to a try in injury time in their Super Rugby clash in Canberra on Friday.

    The match ended 28-28 after the Brumbies led 19-14 at half-time.

    VIDEO: Brumbies v Kings highlights

    The Brumbies scored two tries through wings Henry Speight and Joe Tomane, while flyhalf Christian Lealiifano was successful with five penalties. Scrumhalf Nic White added a penalty as well.

    The Kings replied with tries by prop Schalk Ferreira, flank Wimpie van der Walt and No 8 Cornell du Preez (2). George Whitehead, who was a last-minute replacement at flyhalf for Demetri Catrakilis, slotted three conversions, while Catrakilis himself added the game-tying two-pointer.

    The Brumbies picked up two points for the draw and extended their lead atop the Australian Conference and remained second on the Overall log behind the defending champion Chiefs who enjoy a bye this weekend.

    The Kings picked up three points for drawing and scoring four tries. However, they remained bottom of the South African Conference, but jumped to 12th overall.

    In next weekend's Round 9 action, the Brumbies travel to Dunedin to face the Highlanders (Friday, April 12 at 09:35) while the Kings visit Melbourne where they will fancy their chances against the Rebels (Saturday, April 13 at 11:40).

    Impressed by the Kings' performance? Think they warrant their spot in the competition? Do you see them beating the Rebels next weekend? Send your thoughts to Sport24.



    15 Robbie Coleman, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Pat McCabe, 11 Joe Tomane, 10 Christian Lealiifano, 9 Nic White, 8 Fotu Auelua, 7 George Smith, 6 Ben Mowen (captain), 5 Etienne Oosthuizen, 4 Peter Kimlin, 3 Dan Palmer, 2 Siliva Siliva, 1 Ben Alexander

    Substitutes: 16 Stephen Moore, 17 Scott Sio, 18 Sam Carter, 19 Colby Faingaa, 20 Ian Prior, 21 Andrew Smith, 22 Zack Holmes

    15 Siviwe Soyizwapi, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Waylon Murray, 12 Andries Strauss (captain), 11 Ronnie Cooke, 10 George Whitehead, 9 Nicolas Vergallo, 8 Cornell du Preez, 7 Wimpie van der Walt, 6 Devin Oosthuizen, 5 Rynier Bernardo, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Grant Kemp, 2 Hannes Franklin, 1 Schalk Ferreira

    Substitutes: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Kevin Buys, 18 David Bulbring, 19 Jacques Engelbrecht, 20 Shaun Venter, 21 Marcello Sampson, 22 Demetri Catrakilis

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.