Bolstered Bulls head for Newlands

    2015-04-23 12:18

    Pretoria - Springbok scrumhalf Piet van Zyl will earn a third start for the Bulls on Saturday when they tackle the Stormers in Cape Town in a crucial Super Rugby clash.

    Van Zyl, who started against the coastal side in the season’s opener in February, comes in for the injured Rudy Paige, while coach Frans Ludeke added another Springbok, midfielder Jan Serfontein, to his starting team at Newlands.

    The incumbent Springbok centre is fit again after a hip flexor and will start in place of Burger Odendaal, who deputised for Serfontein the last four weeks.

    The rest of the match-day squad is the same who conquered the Sharks in Durban last weekend, bar Akona Ndungane, who will take Van Zyl’s spot on the bench.

    The centurion wing will make a first start in this year’s competition if called into action and earned his last and 108th cap in the Super Rugby competition in the final pool match of the 2014 competition against the same opponents and venue.

    Ludeke was well aware of the massive challenge that awaits his side against the Stormers, who are just two points behind the Bulls in the standings.

    “It does not come bigger than facing the Stormers in Cape Town. As our luck would have it, they have won their last two matches on tour in Australia and are playing at home for the first time in five weeks, so will be up for it. If we want to be a champion side, we will need to respond to this in a champion’s way,” the coach said.

    Bulls captain Pierre Spies pointed to the set-piece as a possible match clincher.

    “They outplayed us in the opening round, mainly because our set-piece was not as good. We have worked pretty hard since then and I honestly think our pack can now be measured against the best ones out there, especially since we have the likes of Flip van der Merwe and Arno Botha back to full fitness. We will have to be up for it and judging from training this week, we will.”

    Kick-off for Saturday’s clash at Newlands is scheduled for 19:10.



    15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Johnny Kotze, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Damian se Allende, 11 Pat Howard, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Duane Vermeulen (captain), 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Steven Kitshoff

    Substitutes: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Oli Kebble, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Jean Kleyn, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Louis Schreuder, 22 Kurt Coleman, 23 Huw Jones


    15 Jesse Kriel, 14 Francois Hougaard, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Pierre Spies (captain), 7 Jacques du Plessis, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Grant Hattingh, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Marcel van der Merwe, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Dean Greyling

    Substitutes: 16 Callie Visagie, 17 Morne Mellet, 18 Arno Botha, 19 Lappies Labuschagne, 20 Akona Ndungane, 21 Tian Schoeman, 22 Jurgen Visser, 23 Trevor Nyakane

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    Can you name the top Super Rugby tryscorers of all-time?

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.