Blues too strong for hapless Force

    2015-05-02 09:21
    Charles Piutau (Getty Images)

    Auckland - The Blues claimed their second win of the Super Rugby season when they beat the Western Force 41-24 at Eden Park on Saturday.

    Akira Ioane was the star of the show for the hosts as he crossed for a wonderful individual score in the five-try performance in front of their fans in Auckland.

    However, the Blues and New Zealand will be interested to hear the news on injured duo Jerome Kaino (finger) and Charles Piutau (knee), who both were withdrawn from the action in the 17th and 32nd minute respectively.

    The Blues went in at the break 17-0 up after an assured first-half effort that saw them score two tries via Melani Nanai and Steven Luatau.

    Luatua's crossing on the stroke of half-time proved decisive in the game as it gave the Blues a two-score cushion over a poor Force outfit.

    It was flyhalf Daniel Bowden who opened the scoring in the third minute when a run from centre George Moala led to Force number eight Ben McCalman going off his feet at a ruck. Bowden stepped up and landed the three before Luke Burton missed a long-range shot for the visitors.

    Burton wasn't alone in being unsuccessful though as on eighteen minutes, Bowden was wayward with a simple attempt that stunned the player. Fortunately for him his blushes were short-lived as Nanai raced in five minutes later down the left touchline before Bowden kicked the two.

    The Blues were now ten points to the good when Piutau joined Kaino on the sideline but they weren't done there in the half because after Western Force full-back Dane Haylett-Petty was yellow carded for taking out a man in the air, they launched a late-half onslaught on the whitewash.

    First prop Tony Woodcock went close from a metre out before the resulting scrum saw Luatua race over off the back of the set-piece for 17-0.

    The Blues were in no mood to let up in the second-half, as first Nanai grabbed his brace to cap a powerful break from Moala on 43 minutes and then with the score of the game five minutes later, with the impressive Ioane showing real pace from 40 metres to go in. Ihaia West made it 31-0.

    Ioane had made well over 100m and beaten ten defenders by that point but it was the Force who struck next, showing good character as prop Pek Cowan crashed over to reduce the scoreline to 31-7 with centre Burton's conversion. However, pride was all they were playing for.

    They reclaimed some of that with a second try on 60 minutes as captain Matt Hodgson went over, peeling off the back of a maul to score.

    At 31-12, the Blues were smart in their mindset when they opted for three points via the boot of West to establish a healthier cushion for the last sixteen minutes. But then West struck with ball in hand to put the icing on the cake for his side, who looked high on confidence.

    Scrumhalf Ryan Louwrens did cross for a late try from close range for the Force on 69 minutes before McCalman went over for a bonus point try, but the margin was simply too great for the visitors to recover from as the Blues claimed a comfortable victory.



    Tries: Melani Nanai (2), Steven Luatua, Akira Ioane, Ihaia West

    Conversions: Dan Bowden (2), Lolagi Visinia, West (2)

    Penalties: Bowden, West


    Tries: Pekahou Cowan, Matt Hodgson, Ryan Louwrens, Ben McCalman

    Conversions: Luke Burton, Sias Ebersohn



    15 Charles Piutau. 14 Lolagi Visinia, 13 Francis Saili, 12 George Moala/Hamish Northcott, 11 Melani Nanai, 10 Dan Bowden, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Jerome Kaino (captain), 7 Brendon O’Connor, 6 Akira Ioane, 5 Hayden Triggs, 4 Culum Retallick, 3 Charlie Faumuina, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Tony Woodcock

    Substitutes: 16 James Parsons, 17 Ofa Tu’ungafasi, 18 Angus Ta’avao, 19 Steven Luatua, 20 Luke Braid, 21 Jamison Gibson-Park, 22 Ihaia West, 23 Tevita Li


    15 Dane Haylett-Petty, 14 Luke Morahan, 13 Kyle Godwin, 12 Luke Burton, 11 Nick Cummins, 10 Sias Ebersohn, 9 Ryan Louwrens, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 Matt Hodgson (captain), 6 Angus Cottrell, 5 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 4 Steve Mafi, 3 Tetera Faulkner, 2 Nathan Charles, 1 Pekahou Cowan

    Substitutes: 16 Heath Tessmann, 17 Chris Heiberg, 18 Guy Millar, 19 Ross Haylett-Petty, 20 Kane Koteka, 21 Justin Turner, 22 Marcel Brache, 23 Junior Rasolea

    Read More On:  blues force super 15 rugby

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.