Blues end winless streak

    2015-04-10 11:20
    Cape Town - The Blues ended their winless streak in this year's Super Rugby competition, beating the Brumbies in a bruising encounter at Eden Park in Auckland on Friday.

    The Blues won 16-14 after leading 13-0 at half-time.

    Blues flyhalf Dan Bowden scored a try and landed a conversion and two penalties, while replacement No 10 Ihaia West landed the all-important winning penalty in the 77th minute.

    In reply, the Brumbies scored a try through replacement back Lausii Taliauli, while centre Christian Lealiifano was on target with three penalties.

    The men from Canberra had a chance to win the game in the dying moments, but scrumhalf Nic White's long-range penalty attempt sailed left of the uprights.

    The Blues picked up four points for their victory, but stayed last in the New Zealand Conference. They did however move up to 13th in the Overall standings.

    The Brumbies picked up a single point for losing by seven or fewer points, and extended their lead atop the Australian Conference. They stayed second in the Overall log.

    In next weekend's Round 10 action, the Blues travel to Dunedin to face the highlanders (Saturday, April 18 at 09:35), while the Brumbies welcome the Rebels to Canberra (Saturday, April 18 at 11:40).



    15 Charles Piutau, 14 Frank Halai, 13 Pita Ahki, 12 George Moala, 11 Melani Nanai, 10 Dan Bowden, 9 Jamison Gibson-Park, 8 Jerome Kaino (captain), 7 Brendon O'Connor, 6 Luke Braid, 5 Patrick Tuipulotu, 4 Josh Bekhuis, 3 Charlie Faumuina, 2 James Parsons, 1 Ofa Tu'ungafasi

    Substitutes: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Sam Prattley, 18 Angus Ta'avao, 19 Hayden Triggs, 20 Steven Luatua, 21 Jamie Booth, 22 Ihaia West, 23 Francis Saili


    15 Robbie Coleman, 14 Joe Tomane, 13 Henry Speight, 12 Christian Lealiifano, 11 James Dargaville, 10 Matt Toomua, 9 Nic White, 8 Jarrad Butler, 7 David Pocock, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Blake Enever, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Stephen Moore (captain), 1 Scott Sio

    Substitutes: 16 Josh Mann-Rea, 17 JP Smith, 18 Ruan Smith, 19 Jordan Smiler, 20 Ita Vaea, 21 Michael Dowsett, 22 Lausii Taliauli, 23 Nigel Ah Wong

    Read More On:  blues brumbies super 15 rugby

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.