Beast back for Sharks

    2015-05-20 09:57

    Cape Town - Sharks Director of Rugby Gary Gold has named his team to tackle the Reds in a Super Rugby clash in Brisbane on Friday (kick-off 11:40 SA time).

    The only change from the starting team that went down 33-18 to the Waratahs last weekend sees the return of Tendai “Beast” Mtawarira at loosehead prop in place of Dale Chadwick, who drops down to the bench.

    Chadwick takes Matt Stevens’s spot among the substitutes, while Mouritz Botha also comes in on the bench in place of Lubabalo Mtyanda.

    It will be the Sharks’ final game on tour, and Gold said it was important for them to finish on a high, having lost all their games on tour.

    "You look at the players in their team - (James) Slipper, (James ) Horwell, (Will) Genia, (Lachlan) Turner, (James) O'Connor - these are really good rugby players, highly experienced internationals and this is a team going through a similar season to us. A couple of injuries, a couple of poor performances and they've found themselves on the end of a couple of bad results. But credit to them, they turned the corner last weekend against a good Rebels team and we know we're going to have our hands full this weekend.

    "A really good performance and a win this weekend against the Reds is critically important for our campaign, and confidence."



    15 James O'Connor, 14 Chris Feauai-Sautia, 13 Karmichael Hunt, 12 Samu Kerevi, 11 Chris Kuridrani, 10 Jake McIntyre, 9 Will Genia, 8 Jake Schatz, 7 Liam Gill, 6 Adam Thomson, 5 James Horwill, 4 Rob Simmons, 3 Greg Holmes, 2 James Hanson, 1 James Slipper (captain)

    Substitutes: 16 Andrew Ready, 17 Pettowa Paraka, 18 Sam Talakai, 19 Ed O'Donoghue, 20 Lolo Fakaosilea, 21 Nick Frisby, 22 Sam Greene, 23 Ben Tapuai


    15. Lwazi Mvovo, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. JP Pietersen, 12. Frans Steyn, 11. S'bura Sithole, 10. Lionel Cronje, 9. Stefan Ungerer, 8. Renaldo Bothma, 7. Willem Alberts, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Marco Wentzel (captain), 4. Stephan Lewies, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis, 1. Tendai Mtawarira

    Substitutes: 16. Franco Marais, 17. Dale Chadwick, 18. Lourens Adriaanse, 19. Mouritz Botha, 20. Etienne Oosthuizen, 21. Conrad Hoffmann, 22. Fred Zeilinga, 23. Andre Esterhuizen

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Sport Talk
    Most Read


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.