Vodacom Super 14

Muir keeps Spencer at fullback

2010-04-22 12:30
Staying at No 15 (File)

Johannesburg - Lions coach Dick Muir has made only two injury-enforced changes to the team that lost to the Sharks last weekend, for Saturday’s Super 14 derby match against the Bulls at Loftus Versfeld.

Walter Venter replaces Doppies la Grange at inside centre and Derick Minnie come in for No 8 Todd Clever.

Venter, back from injury, will now partner Marius Delport, who played centre and wing for the Bulls last season. Delport is keen to prove his worth against the side that he probably feels didn’t give him enough opportunities.

Venter and Delport will be up against Bulls Springboks Wynand Olivier and Jaco Pretorius.

Carlos Spencer, who was not selected but ran on in a surprise late decision by Muir last week, retains his place at fullback after a good performance against the Sharks and Michael Killian is again on the wing, to where he was moved to accommodate Spencer.

An expected change after his inclusion in the Vodacom Cup side for Friday’s quarter-final against the Free State Cheetahs is the omission from the Super 14 squad of Springbok Heinke van der Merwe.

He was on the bench last weekend, but Muir has brought in Kevin Buys to cover the front row and also promoted Vodacom Cup captain Justin Wheeler on the bench.

Wouter Moore also gets a chance on the bench with Willem Stoltz now in the Vodacom Cup team.


15. Zane Kirchner, 14. Gerhard van den Heever, 13. Jaco Pretorius, 12. Wynand Olivier, 11. Francois Hougaard, 10. Morne Steyn, 9. Heini Adams, 8. Pierre Spies, 7. Dewald Potgieter, 6. Derick Kuün, 5. Victor Matfield (captain), 4. Danie Rossouw, 3. Werner Kruger, 2. Gary Botha, 1. Gurthrö Steenkamp

Substitutes: 16. Bandise Maku, 17. Bees Roux, 18. Flip van der Merwe, 19. Deon Stegmann, 20. Fourie du Preez, 21. Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 22. Pedrie Wannenburg

15. Carlos Spencer, 14. Michael Killian, 13. Marius Delport, 12. Walter Venter, 11. Wandile Mjekevu, 10. Herkie Kruger, 9. Jano Vermaak, 8. Derick Minnie, 7. Wikus van Heerden, 6. Cobus Grobbelaar (captain), 5. Franco van der Merwe, 4. Nico Luus, 3. Gert Muller, 2. Hans van Dyk, 1. JC Janse van Rensburg

Substitutes: 16. Hannes Franklin, 17. Kevin Buys, 18. Wouter Moore, 19. Justin Wheeler, 20. Chris Jonck, 21. Deon van Rensburg, 22. Tonderai Chavhanga

Read more on:    super 14  |  dick muir  |  carlos spencer  |  johannesburg  |  bulls  |  lions

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

If Super14 champs, the Bulls, had to take on Heineken Cup champs, Toulouse, at a neutral venue, which side would win?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.