Vodacom Super 14

Injuries strike Chiefs

2009-05-20 08:25
Brendon Leornard (File)

Wellington - The Chiefs have lost three key players to injury in the lead-up to Friday's Super 14 semi-final against the Hurricanes in Hamilton.

Scrumhalf Brendon Leonard, prop Ben May and centre Richard Kahui have all been ruled out of the clash against their fellow New Zealanders.

Leonard and May have both been ruled out for the rest of the Super 14 after injuring themselves in last weekend's 10-7 win over the Brumbies.

Leonard, who tore a hamstring, was replaced by Toby Morland while Sona Taumalolo comes in for May, who was carried from the field with a knee ligament problem.

Kahui was ruled out because of a bruised right calf and replaced by utility back Dwayne Sweeney.

The Chiefs beat the Hurricanes at home two weeks ago and coach Ian Foster was confident of another win despite the casualty list.

"We all can't wait for this match," Foster said on Wednesday.

"It's been a good week of preparation, with a lift in excitement that such an occasion brings."

The Hurricanes retained the same team that beat the Reds 37-28 last weekend but were sweating on the fitness of lock Jeremy Thrush after he hurt his elbow at training.

Thrush has had elbow problems before and coach Colin Cooper said he would have to undergo tests before being cleared to play.

"The doctor is not quite sure how bad it is, he's not ruled out anyway," Cooper said.


Chiefs: 15-Mils Muliaina (captain), 14-Lelia Masaga, 13-Dwayne Sweeney, 12-Callum Bruce, 11-Sitiveni Sivivatu, 10-Stephen Donald, 9-Toby Morland, 8-Sione Lauaki, 7-Tanerau Latimer, 6-Liam Messam, 5-Kevin O'Neill, 4-Craig Clarke, 3-James McGougan, 2-Aled de Malmanche, 1-Sona Taumalolo.

Replacements: 16-Hika Elliot, 17-Joe Savage, 18-Toby Lynn, 19-Serge Lilo, 20-David Bason, 21-Mike Delany, 22-Sosene Anesi

Hurricanes: 15-Cory Jane, 14-Tamati Ellison, 13-Conrad Smith, 12-Ma'a Nonu, 11-David Smith, 10-Willie Ripia, 9-Piri Weepu, 8-Rodney So'oialo (captain), 7-Scott Waldrom, 6-Victor Vito, 5-Jason Eaton, 4-Jeremy Thrush, 3-Neemia Tialata, 2-Andrew Hore, 1-John Schwalger.

Replacements: 16-Ged Robinson, 17-Jacob Ellison, 18-Bryn Evans, 19-Karl Lowe, 20-Alby Mathewson, 21-Jason Kawau, 22-Zac Guildford.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

If Super14 champs, the Bulls, had to take on Heineken Cup champs, Toulouse, at a neutral venue, which side would win?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.