Vodacom Super 14

Bulls blaze to third S14 title

2010-05-29 19:00
Soweto - The Bulls beat the Stormers by 25-17 to claim their third Super 14 trophy in their historic final at the Orlando stadium.

Springbok flyhalf Morne Steyn bagged 20 points.

Trailing 16-0 during the first half of only the second all-South African final, Stormers clawed back within six points midway through the second half only for Steyn to kick three penalties.

A late Ricky Januarie try gave the scoreline a flattering look as the Bulls always appeared likely winners of the southern hemisphere championship climax watched by a sell-out 36 500 crowd.

Bulls started favourites at their adopted home ground in the black township of Soweto with Pretoria fortress Loftus Versfeld being readied for the FIFA World Cup that kicks off next month.

The defending champions made one change from the team that finished 15 points ahead of Canterbury Crusaders in a semi-final last weekend with Gerhard van den Heever returning to the right wing after serving a two-match ban.

But the scorer of eight Super 14 tries this season lasted just 10 minutes before an injury forced him to retire and be replaced by veteran former Springbok Jaco van der Westhuyzen.

Appearing in their first Super final, Stormers kept faith with the starting line-up from the 19-point triumph over the Waratahs at Newlands in Cape Town seven days ago.

Bulls shrugged off the Van den Heever blow to lead 16-3 at half-time with the usual suspect contributing most of the points as top 2010 Super 14 scorer Steyn kicked three penalties and converted a Francois Hougaard try.

Guest of honour President Jacob Zuma said he wanted to see tries and his wish came true on 24 minutes as scrumhalf Fourie du Preez set up Hougaard from a ruck and the wing rounded fullback Joe Pietersen to dot down.

Stormers pack was struggling to assert itself, regularly being turned over, but they got on the scoreboard nine minutes before half-time when fly-half Peter Grant succeeded with his first penalty attempt.

A more even but scrappy second half came to life on 54 minutes when 2007 Rugby Player of the Year Bryan Habana intercepted a pass just inside Bulls territory and raced unchallenged to the line for a try Grant converted.

Steyn widened the Bulls lead to nine points with his fourth penalty, but failed for the first time in the match when another attempt from near the touchline just missed the target.

Not that it affected his confidence as two more penalty chances presented themselves in the closing stages and Steyn struck both between the posts to give the Bulls a 25-10 advantage.

With time ticking away on a cool, overcast evening, Stormers got a second try through Januarie and Grant converted.


Try: Francois Hougaard
Conversion: Morne Steyn
Penalties: Steyn (6)

Tries: Bryan Habana, Pieter Louw
Conversions: Peter Grant (2)
Penalty: Grant


15. Zane Kirchner, 14. Gerhard van den Heever, 13. Jaco Pretorius, 12. Wynand Olivier, 11. Francois Hougaard, 10. Morne Steyn, 9. Fourie du Preez, 8. Pierre Spies, 7. Dewald Potgieter, 6. Deon Stegmann, 5. Victor Matfield (captain), 4. Danie Rossouw, 3. Werner Kruger, 2. Gary Botha, 1. Gurthro Steenkamp

Substitutes: 16. Bandise Maku, 17. Bees Roux, 18. Flip van der Merwe, 19. Derick Kuun, 20. Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 21. Jaco van der Westhuyzen, 22. Pedrie Wannenburg

15. Joe Pietersen, 14. Gio Aplon, 13. Jaque Fourie, 12. Juan de Jongh, 11. Bryan Habana, 10. Peter Grant, 9. Dewaldt Duvenage, 8. Duane Vermeulen, 7. Francois Louw, 6. Schalk Burger (captain), 5. Andries Bekker, 4. Adriaan Fondse, 3. Brok Harris, 2. Tiaan Liebenberg, 1. Wicus Blaauw

Substitutes: 16. Deon Fourie, 17. JC Kritzinger, 18. Anton van Zyl, 19. Pieter Louw, 20. Ricky Januarie, 21. Willem De Waal, 22. Tim Whitehead

Read more on:    super 14

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

If Super14 champs, the Bulls, had to take on Heineken Cup champs, Toulouse, at a neutral venue, which side would win?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.