Vodacom Super 14

Goode to start for Sharks

2010-03-04 10:04
Andy Goode (File)
Sydney - Sharks coach John Plumtree has made a few changes to the side to take on the Waratahs in their Round 4 Super 14 match in Sydney on Saturday.

Kick-off is at 10:40 SA time.

Among the backs, there is a new-look starting halfback pairing which played together for a few minutes in the closing stages of last week's game against the Crusaders, with Ruan Pienaar shifting to scrumhalf which sees Rory Kockott named on the bench, and Andy Goode playing in the flyhalf position.

Riaan Swanepoel returns to the starting line-up after missing the initial games through a return from injury, and then last week playing off the bench. He will partner Adi Jacobs in the midfield with the back three of JP Pietersen, Odwa Ndungane and Stefan Terblanche remaining unchanged.

The match holds special meaning with JP Pietersen reaching a special milestone when he runs out onto the field, playing in his 50th Super 14 match for The Sharks.

Keegan Daniel and Jacques Botes continue their rotation on the flank with the former starting this week and Ryan Kankowski and Willem Alberts completing the loose forward trio.

Steven Sykes and Johann Muller continue a lock relationship that has blossomed over the past few seasons while the front row has Deon Carstens starting his first game after playing off the bench in the last two games and Jannie du Plessis playing on the tighthead side.

Captain John Smit is the hooker in the final change.

The Waratahs come off a tough South African tour to play in their first home game of the season, while The Sharks, stung by disappointment will be looking to a good result.


15. Sosene Anesi, 14. Lachie Turner, 13. Tom Carter, 12. Berrick Barnes, 11. Drew Mitchell, 10. Daniel Halangahu, 9. Luke Burgess, 8. Wycliff Palu, 7. Phil Waugh (captain), 6. Dave Dennis, 5. Kane Douglas, 4. Dean Mumm, 3. Al Baxter, 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1. Benn Robinson

Substitutes: 16. Damien Fitzpatrick, 17. Sekope Kepu, 18. Will Caldwell, 19. Ben Mowen, 20. Josh Holmes, 21. Kurtley Beale, 22. Rob Horne

15. Stefan Terblanche, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. Adrian Jacobs, 12. Riaan Swanepoel, 11. JP Pietersen, 10. Andrew Goode, 9. Ruan Pienaar, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Willem Alberts, 6. Keegan Daniel, 5. Johann Muller, 4. Steven Sykes, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. John Smit (captain) 1. Deon Carstens

Substitutes: 16. Bismarck du Plessis, 17. Tendai Mtawarira, 18. Wilhelm Steenkamp, 19. Jean Deysel, 20. Jacques Botes, 21. Rory Kockott, 22. Waylon Murray


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

If Super14 champs, the Bulls, had to take on Heineken Cup champs, Toulouse, at a neutral venue, which side would win?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.