Vodacom Super 14

Goode benched for Stormers

2010-05-06 13:13
Benched (File)

Durban - Englishman Andy Goode has been dropped to the bench for the Sharks' Super 14 match against the Stormers on Saturday night, with Ruan Pienaar returning to flyhalf.

Gallery: Stormers train ahead of Sharks clash

Video: Inside the Stormers change room

Goode will be joining Worcester after the Super 14 and so Sharks coach John Plumtree, has opted to start Rory Kockott and Pienaar in the half-back channel for this weekend's game at the Absa Stadium.

Pienaar has been in outstanding form this season and has regularly shifted to flyhalf when Kockott has come on to replace Goode during the latter stages of the game.

Last weekend, the nuggety scrumhalf made a noticeable impact when he came on against the Bulls, scoring an impressive solo try, and he has now been rewarded with a rare starting berth.

Plumtree has also opted for an interesting loose-trio combination, with Ryan Kankowski, Jean Deysel and Willem Alberts all overcoming slight injury worries to turn out in the back row together for the first time this season.

With lock Johann Muller out for eight weeks with a fractured arm, Alistair Hargreaves will start in the second row with Steven Sykes.

Similarly, with Bismarck du Plessis out with a long-term neck injury, Tendai Mtawarira, John Smit and Jannie du Plessis remain as the front row combination.

The Sharks may be out of semi-final contention, but will be doing no favours for the Stormers, who will want to win to secure a place in the playoffs.


15. Patrick Lambie 14. Odwa Ndungane 13. Stefan Terblanche 12. Riaan Swanepoel 11. Lwazi Mvovo 10. Ruan Pienaar 9. Rory Kockott 8. Ryan Kankowski 7. Willem Alberts 6. Jean Deysel 5. Alistair Hargreaves 4. Steven Sykes 3. Jannie du Plessis 2. John Smit (captain) 1. Tendai Mtawarira

Substitutes: 16. Craig Burden 17. Patric Cilliers 18. Wilhelm Steenkamp 19. Keegan Daniel 20. Jacques Botes 21. Andy Goode 22. Andries Strauss

15. Gio Aplon, 14. Sireli Naqelevuki, 13. Jaque Fourie, 12. Juan De Jongh, 11. Tim Whitehead, 10. Peter Grant, 9. Dewaldt Duvenage, 8. Duane Vermeulen, 7. Francois Louw, 6. Schalk Burger (captain), 5. Andries Bekker, 4. Adriaan Fondse, 3. Brok Harris, 2. Tiaan Liebenberg, 1. JD Moller

Substitutes: 16. Deon Fourie, 17. Eusebio Guinazu, 18. Anton van Zyl, 19. Pieter Louw, 20. Ricky Januarie, 21. Willem de Waal, 22. Joe Pietersen

Read more on:    super 14  |  durban  |  sharks  |  stormers


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

If Super14 champs, the Bulls, had to take on Heineken Cup champs, Toulouse, at a neutral venue, which side would win?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.