Vodacom Super 14

Blues make two changes

2010-04-22 18:41
Joe Rokocoko (Gallo Images)

Durban - Auckland Blues coach Pat Lam made two changes on Thursday for the Super 14 match with fellow semifinal chasers the Sharks.

Lam recalled flanker Serge Lilo and named Peter Saili in place of Viliami Ma'afu at No. 8.

With four games remaining in the regular season, both teams need a win to keep their semi-final chances alive.

"While the Sharks are tough to beat at Absa Stadium, we know how high the stakes are," Lam said.

New Zealand's Blues are currently seventh with a 5-4 record after beating the Western Force 38-17 last weekend but have not won two games in a row since week three. The Sharks have won four successive matches to lie ninth.

Lam has retained the attacking trio of fullback Isaia Toeava and wings Joe Rokocoko and Rudi Wulf. Rokocoko is the tournament's leading try-scorer with seven, having recorded three in the victory over the Force.

Toeava and Wulf have six tries between them.

Benson Stanley and former All Black Luke McAlister were again named as the centers, with Rene Ranger, who has scored five tries this season, again on the bench.

The Sharks named Andries Strauss as their only change to the team that edged the Lions 32-28 last weekend. Strauss was called in Thursday to replace the injured Riaan Swanepoel at No. 12.

Swanepoel was named on the bench alongside versatile forward Mike Rhodes, who is in line to make his first Super 14 appearance.

Springboks captain John Smit continues at loosehead prop in the must-win match in Durban.

"They're in the same position as us, mid table-ish on the log (standings)," Sharks coach John Plumtree said. "It's a case of winner takes all on the weekend, a real test match for both teams."

Sharks v Blues, Durban - 17:05

15. Patrick Lambie, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. Stefan Terblanche, 12. Andries Strauss, 11. JP Pietersen, 10. Andy Goode, 9. Ruan Pienaar, 8. Willem Alberts, 7. Jean Deysel, 6. Jacques Botes, 5. Johann Muller, 4. Steven Sykes, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis 1. John Smit (captain)

Substitutes: 16. Craig Burden, 17. Tendai Mtawarira, 18. Alistair Hargreaves, 19. Michael Rhodes, 20. Rory Kockott, 21. Riaan Swanepoel, 22. Lwazi Mvovo


15. Isaia Toeava, 14. Joe Rokocoko, 13. Benson Stanley, 12. Luke McAlister, 11. Rudi Wulf, 10. Stephen Brett, 9. Alby Mathewson, 8. Peter Saili, 7. Serge Lilo, 6. Jerome Kaino, 5. Filo Paulo, 4. Kurtis Haiu, 3. John Afoa, 2. Keven Mealamu (captain), 1. Tony Woodcock

Substitutes: 16. Tom McCartney, 17. Tevita Mailau, 18. Andrew Van der Heijden, 19. Viliami Ma'afu, 20. Chris Smylie, 21. Rene Ranger, 22. Paul Williams

Read more on:    blues  |  sharks  |  super 14  |  joe rokocoko

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

If Super14 champs, the Bulls, had to take on Heineken Cup champs, Toulouse, at a neutral venue, which side would win?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.