Stormers down Cheetahs in friendly

2015-01-30 20:52
Stormers centre Huw Jones (Photo: Stormers' Facebook page)

Cape Town - The Stormers scored a well-deserved 39-31 win over the Cheetahs in pre-season action at Newlands on Friday evening.

The hosts, in action at home for the first time in 2015, led by 29-10 at half-time - having scored four excellent tries in the first half.

Outside centre Juan de Jongh - who looked sharp all night long - opened their account in the fifth minute and they never looked back from there, with hooker Scarra Ntubeni, inside centre Huw Jones (his second in two games) and scrumhalf Nic Groom also crossing in the opening period.

Although Stormers managed just one try in the second half - by left-wing Dillyn Leyds - they were the better team on the night in most facets of play, the hosts impressing at scrum-time yet again and also on the ground and their backs looking incisive and skilful with ball in hand.

Flyhalves Demetri Catrakilis (four conversions) and Kurt Coleman (two penalties) missed just one kick between them to cap off a good night in front of a crowd of just under 9 000 at Newlands.

The Stormers will play the Boland Cavaliers in their final pre-season friendly at Cape Town Stadium next week, while the Cheetahs will tackle the Griffons in Bloemfontein on Wednesday.

Both teams start their Super Rugby campaigns on February 14, with the Stormers taking on the Bulls in Pretoria and the Cheetahs travelling to Durban to face the Sharks.



Tries: De Jongh, Ntubeni, Jones, Groom, Leyds

Cons: Catrakilis 4

Pens: Coleman 2


Tries: Cook, Hendricks 2, Burger

Cons: Du Plessis 2, Brummer 2



15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Juan de Jongh (vice-captain), 12 Huw Jones, 11 Dillyn Leyds, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Duane Vermeulen (captain), 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Rynhardt Elstadt, 5 Manuel Carizza, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Steven Kitshoff.

Substitutes: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Alistair Vermaak, 18 Wilco Louw, 19 Jurie van Vuuren, 20 Johnny Kotze, 21 Neil Rautenbach, 22 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 23 Louis Schreuder, 24 Kurt Coleman, 25 Jean Kleyn, 26 Robert du Preez, 28 EW Viljoen


15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 JP du Plessis, 12 Michael van der Spuy, 11 Danie Dames, 10 Willie du Plessis, 9 Tian Meyer, 8 Willie Britz (captain), 7 Oupa Mohoje, 6 Jean Cook, 5 Carl Wegner, 4 Armandt Koster, 3 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 2 Martin Bezuidenhout, 1 Caylib Oosthuizen.

Substitutes: 16 Stephan Coetzee, 17 Danie Mienie, 18 Coenie Oosthuizen, 19 Francois Uys, 20 Lodewyk de Jager, 21 Tienie Burger, 22 Shaun Venter, 23 Francois Brummer, 24 Francois Venter, 25 Raymond Rhule, 26 Willie le Roux

Referee: Jaco van Heerden

Read more on:    stormers  |  cheetahs  |  super 15  |  bloemfontein  |  cape town  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Which of the 4 South African team will finish with the fewest Super Rugby SA Conference points?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.