Boks in UK

Meyer reveals plan with locks

2013-11-15 07:47
Pieter-Steph du Toit (Getty Images)
Cape Town - Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has explained why he decided to not include lock Pieter-Steph du Toit in his squad to face Scotland on Sunday.

The promising youngster made his Test debut when he came off the bench against Wales in Cardiff last Saturday. It was expected that Meyer would give the youngster another shot this weekend as the coach firmly believes the 21-year-old has a big future in the international game.

However, Bakkies Botha was included to start his first Test since the 2011 Rugby World Cup. He will form a lock partnership with Flip van der Merwe with Eben Etzebeth on the bench.

"It was a big decision not to include Pieter-Steph because I'd like to give him as much playing time as possible," Meyer told Die Burger's website.

But Meyer said that with Botha being out of the Bok fold for so long it would have been risky to start with him and Du Toit.

"If I picked Pieter-Steph alongside Bakkies then we would effectively have two newcomers. I also felt I needed an experienced player who could replace Bakkies later in the game.

"Flip recently started as No 5 lock and is playing with a lot of confidence. It was therefore an easy decision to pick these three (Botha, Van der Merwe and Etzebeth)," said Meyer.

Meyer said he was impressed with the physical state of the 34-year-old Botha.

"I've coached Bakkies for years now and have seldom seen him look this good. He's lost a lot of weight, is fit and movable, and wins lineout balls. But he has to show that he's good enough."

Meyer also said he wanted to have more lock options at his disposal with an eye on the 2015 Rugby World Cup in England.

"You need five very good locks to walk the road to the World Cup tournament. It's an area where South Africa lost a few good players."

Meyer also said he'd like Etzebeth to play more as a No 5 lock over the next year.

Sunday's Test at Murrayfield kicks off at 17:00 (SA time).



15 Sean Maitland, 14 Tommy Seymour, 13 Nick De Luca, 12 Duncan Taylor, 11 Sean Lamont, 10 Ruaridh Jackson, 9 Greig Laidlaw (captain), 8 David Denton, 7 John Barclay, 6 Alasdair Strokosch, 5 Jim Hamilton, 4 Richie Gray, 3 Moray Low, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Alasdair Dickinson

Substitutes: 16 Scott Lawson, 17 Ryan Grant, 18 Geoff Cross, 19 Jonny Gray, 20 John Beattie, 21 Chris Cusiter, 22 Duncan Weir, 23 Max Evans

South Africa

15 Willie le Roux, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers (captain), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts/Siya Kolisi, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Flip van der Merwe, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Adriaans Strauss, 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp

Substitutes: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 Tendai Mtawarira 18 Coenie Oosthuizen, 19  Eben Etzebeth, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Morné Steyn/AN Other, 23 JJ Engelbrecht


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.


The 5 players nominated for the IRB Player of the Year have been announced. Who gets your vote?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.