Boks in UK

Mallett, Meyer neck and neck

2013-11-26 13:00
Meyer & Mallett (AP/Gallo)
Cape Town - Following his team's victory over France on the end of year tour, Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer's win-record remains the third best in the modern era.

The coach had endured a shaky start to his tenure in 2012, only winning 7 of 12 games (with two draws) for an 58% win percentage in his first year in charge.

But the Springboks have shown a marked improvement under Meyer's guidance, and since then Meyer's stocks have soared, with his Springbok team winning 10 of their 12 games in 2013 to give him an 83% win percentage, the third best win percentage for the Springboks in a calender year since South Africa’s readmission in 1992.

In the 2013 season, his team defeated all opponents with the exception of the All Blacks, whom he lost to twice.

This gives Meyer an overall winning ratio of just under 71%, with only Kitch Christie and Nick Mallett having better Springbok records in terms of winning percentage.

Meyer's record at this stage most closely resembles former Springbok, Stade Francaise and Italy coach Mallett, who presented the Springbok team with their jerseys last Friday ahead of the Test against France in Paris.

Meyer has reintroduced some more experienced players to his team and vastly improved their attacking play, resulting in a total of 47 tries, the most in a single season by the Springboks since 2007, when they last won the Rugby World Cup.

But looking toward the 2014 season, the coach will hope to find a way to unlock the All Blacks, the one opponent he has been unable to defeat since his appointment in 2012.

Winning percentages of Bok coaches in the modern era:

1. Kitch Christie (1994–1996) 14 wins from 14 - 100%
2. Nick Mallett (1997–2000) - 27 wins from 38 - 71%
3. Heyneke Meyer (2012–present) 17 wins from 24 - 71%
4. Jake White (2004-2007) - 36 wins from 54 - 67%
5. Peter de Villiers (2008–2011) - 30 win from 48 - 62%
6. Andre Markgraaff (1996) - 8 wins from 13 - 61%


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk


The 5 players nominated for the IRB Player of the Year have been announced. Who gets your vote?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.