Boks in UK

Braam: Keep Lambie at 10!

2012-11-15 22:16
Braam van Straaten (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - Former Springbok flyhalf Braam van Straaten says Patrick Lambie should stay at flyhalf for the last two games of the Boks' European tour.

Lambie - who started at flyhalf in the 16-12 win over Ireland last week - has retained his starting role at No 10 for Saturday's Test against Scotland at Murrayfield.

And Van Straaten says the Sharks pivot should stay there for the last game against England at Twickenham, especially with the Rugby World Cup in 2015 in mind.

"Pat is a very talented player. He'll do well no matter where he plays for South Africa.

"But if Pat gets more opportunities at flyhalf, he'll show what he's made of. Flyhalf could become his best position," Van Straaten told the Beeld website.

Van Straaten, who played 21 Tests for the Boks, also rates the injured Johan Goosen highly but believes, for now, Lambie should stay in the saddle. The other current flyhalf options for coach Heyneke Meyer are Morné Steyn and Elton Jantjies.

"Everyone always wants the Bok flyhalf to play well. During the Rugby Championship there were mixed feelings about who should be flyhalf. But they should stay with Pat on this tour - then he can become really good," said Van Straaten, who in recent years helped Australia's goal-kickers.

Kick-off on Saturday is at 16:30 (SA time).



15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Sean Lamont, 13 Nick de Luca, 12 Matt Scott, 11 Tim Visser, 10 Greig Laidlaw, 9 Mike Blair, 8 David Denton, 7 Kelly Brown (captain), 6 Alasdair Strokosch, 5 Jim Hamilton, 4 Richie Gray, 3 Euan Murray, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Ryan Grant

Substitutes: 16 Dougie Hall, 17 Kyle Traynor, 18 Geoff Cross, 19 Alastair Kellock, 20 John Barclay, 21 Henry Pyrgos, 22 Ruaridh Jackson, 23 Peter Murchie

South Africa:

15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers (captain), 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp

Substitutes: 16. Schalk Brits, 17 Heinke van der Merwe, 18 CJ van der Linde, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Morné Steyn, 22 Jaco Taute, 23 Lwazi Mvovo


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.


The 5 players nominated for the IRB Player of the Year have been announced. Who gets your vote?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.