Boks in UK

Boks by 14, say bookies

2013-11-14 12:17
Heyneke Meyer (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - The Springboks will have no problems dispatching Scotland in Edinburgh on Sunday, if local bookmakers are to be believed. has tipped the Boks to win by 14 points as they prepare for the second game of their end-of-year tour.

Despite being favourites, the Springboks cannot head into the clash overconfident as history could come back to bite them.

The Boks surprisingly lost at Murrayfield in 2010 when Peter de Villiers's men came badly unstuck, losing 21-17.

That result against a strong Springbok side will go down as a massive upset and it prevented the Boks from claiming a much sought after Grand Slam - a feat last achieved by them in 1961. South Africa had beaten Ireland (23-21) and Wales (29-25) in the weeks leading up to the game and also finished their tour on a high when they beat England 21-11 at Twickenham the following week.

Another recent negative result against the Scots came in 2002 when Rudolph Straeuli's Boks lost 21-6.

In all, Scotland and South Africa have played each other 23 times, with the Boks winning 18 and Scotland five.

Coach Heyneke Meyer's men beat Wales 24-15 in Cardiff last week and will face France in Paris next Saturday to conclude their tour.

Kick-off at Murrayfield is scheduled for 17:00 (SA time) on Sunday.



15 Sean Maitland, 14 Tommy Seymour, 13 Nick De Luca, 12 Duncan Taylor, 11 Sean Lamont, 10 Ruaridh Jackson, 9 Greig Laidlaw (captain), 8 David Denton, 7 John Barclay, 6 Alasdair Strokosch, 5 Jim Hamilton, 4 Richie Gray, 3 Moray Low, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Alasdair Dickinson

Substitutes: 16 Scott Lawson, 17 Ryan Grant, 18 Geoff Cross, 19 Jonny Gray, 20 John Beattie, 21 Chris Cusiter, 22 Duncan Weir, 23 Max Evans

South Africa

15 Willie le Roux, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers (captain), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts/Siya Kolisi, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Flip van der Merwe, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Adriaans Strauss, 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp

Substitutes: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 Tendai Mtawarira 18 Coenie Oosthuizen, 19  Eben Etzebeth, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Morné Steyn/AN Other, 23 JJ Engelbrecht

Read more on:    springboks  |  boks on tour  |  herman mostert  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.


The 5 players nominated for the IRB Player of the Year have been announced. Who gets your vote?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.