Kolisi opens up on Bok captaincy style

2018-11-03 08:30
Siya Kolisi
Siya Kolisi (Photo supplied by SA Rugby)

Cape Town - On Saturday, Siya Kolisi will captain the Springboks for the 10th time when they take on England at Twickenham. 

With 5 wins from 9 so far, Kolisi could do with a successful European tour over the next month where fixtures against France, Scotland and Wales await. 

The hype that surround Kolisi's appointment as captain at the start of the year was understandable given that he was the country's first black Bok skipper. 

It was a lot to take in, but now that Kolisi has settled into the role he is much clearer in terms of what is expected from him.

"I can't change who I am. I've had to carry on being myself," he said from Twickenham on Friday.

"I obviously have a responsibility off the field but on the field my responsibility is to perform ... that's what I've been focusing on. The main focus has been making sure I deliver every time I play on Saturday."

Kolisi described himself as a "chilled" captain who doesn't often engage in screaming matches in the dressing room.

"I have a lot of leaders in my team. There is no point me trying to control everything and I believe in shared leadership," he said.

"There are some guys who know things that I don't know, so I let the guys take control where they can so that we can all grow as people. Everybody has a voice in the team. The coach is not only creating players but leaders."

There are three previous Bok captains starting Saturday's clash in Eben Etzebeth, Warren Whiteley and Pieter-Steph du Toit. 

Kick-off is at 17:00 (SA time). 



15 Elliot Daly, 14 Jack Nowell, 13 Henry Slade, 12 Ben Te’o, 11 Jonny May, 10 Owen Farrell (co-captain), 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Mark Wilson, 7 Tom Curry, 6 Brad Shields, 5 George Kruis, 4 Maro Itoje, 3 Kyle Sinckler, 2 Dylan Hartley (co-captain), 1 Alec Hepburn 

Substitutes: 16 Jamie George, 17 Ben Moon, 18 Harry Williams, 19 Charlie Ewels, 20 Zach Mercer, 21 Danny Care, 22 George Ford, 23 Chris Ashton

South Africa

15 Damian Willemse, 14 S’bu Nkosi, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Ivan van Zyl, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Duane Vermeulen, 6 Siya Kolisi (captain), 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Steven Kitshoff

Substitutes: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Thomas du Toit, 18 Wilco Louw, 19 RG Snyman, 20 Lood de Jager, 21 Embrose Papier, 22 Elton Jantjies, 23 André Esterhuizen 

Read more on:    springboks  |  siya kolisi  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

The Springboks' best player at the 2019 Rugby World Cup was:

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.