Kolisi honoured by peers as SA's best

2017-12-13 08:12
Siya Kolisi (Getty)

Cape Town - Springbok loose forward Siya Kolisi was honoured by his peers as South Africa's Player of the Year at an awards ceremony hosted in Johannesburg on Tuesday night. 

The Brightrock Players Choice Awards, in partnership with MyPlayers, gives South African rugby players the opportunity to reward other South African rugby players. 

The awards are all determined by votes that are cast by the players themselves. 

In the Players' Player of the Year category, Kolisi beat off Rosko Specman, Warren Whiteley and Makazole Mapimpi to win the award while he also bagged the Forward of the Year award. 

Kolisi played in 12 of the 13 Springbok Tests this year while he was also a massive player for the Stormers throughout the Super Rugby season. 

The SA Rugby Awards, meanwhile, will take place early next year. 

Lions hooker Malcolm Marx is the overwhelming favourite to win the 2017 Player of the Year Award there.

He is nominated alongside Kolisi, Eben Etzebeth, Jaco Kriel and Jan Serfontein. 

Read more on:    springboks  |  siya kolisi  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.