Head-to-head: BaaBaas lead Boks

2016-11-04 10:09

Cape Town - Going into Saturday’s match at London’s Wembley Stadium, the Barbarians hold a slight edge in the head-to-head stakes against the Springboks.

READ: Boks to down BaaBaas by 7 - bookies

The first encounter took place way back in 1952, when the Springboks ran out comfortable 17-3 winners in Cardiff.

But since then it’s not been all plain sailing for South Africa, with the BaaBaas winning four of the next six matches to hold a 4-3 advantage.

They also won the two most recent encounters - in 2007 and 2010.

Saturday’s match is scheduled for 17:30 (SA time).

Springboks v Barbarians head-to-head:

January 26, 1952: South Africa 17-3, Cardiff Arms Park - Cardiff
February 4, 1961: South Africa 0-6 Barbarians, Cardiff Arms Park - Cardiff
January 31, 1970: South Africa 21-12 Barbarians, Twickenham - London
December 3, 1994: South Africa 15-23 Barbarians, Lansdowne Road - Dublin
December 9, 2000: South Africa 41-31 Barbarians, Millennium Stadium - Cardiff
December 1, 2007: South Africa 5-22 Barbarians, Twickenham - London
December 4, 2010: South Africa 20-26 Barbarians, Twickenham - London


South Africa

15 Jesse Kriel, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Francois Venter, 12 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 11 Jamba Ulengo, 10 Pat Lambie (captain), 9 Rudy Paige, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Oupa Mohoje, 6 Roelof Smit, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 RG Snyman, 3 Lourens Adriaanse, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Beast Mtawarira

Substitutes: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Lizo Gqoboka, 18 Trevor Nyakane, 19 Eben Etzebeth, 20 Jean-Luc du Preez, 21 Piet van Zyl, 22 Tian Schoeman, 23 Ruan Combrinck


15 Melani Nanai (Blues), 14 Matt Faddes (Highlanders), 13 Seta Tamanivalu (Crusaders & New Zealand), 12 Richard Buckman (Highlanders & Panasonic), 11 Taqele Naiyaravoro (Waratahs, Panasonic & Australia), 10 Robert du Preez (Stormers), 9 Andy Ellis (Crusaders, Kobelco Steelers & New Zealand), 8 Luke Whitelock (Highlanders & New Zealand), 7 Jordan Taufua (Crusaders), 6 Brad Shields (Hurricanes), 5 Michael Fatialofa (Hurricanes), 4 Martin Muller (Lions), 3 Paddy Ryan (Waratahs & Australia),  2 Akker van der Merwe (Lions), 1 Reggie Goodes (Hurricanes)

Substitutes: 16 Andrew Ready (Reds), 17 Schalk van der Merwe (Montpellier), 18 Toby Smith (Rebels & Australia), 19 Sam Carter, (Brumbies & Australia), 20 Ruan Ackermann (Lions), 21 Nic Stirzaker (Rebels), 22 Richard Mo’unga (Crusaders), 23 Luke Morahan (Force & Australia)

Read more on:    springboks  |  barbarians  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

The main reason for the Springboks' opening Rugby World Cup match defeat to the All Blacks was?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.