Boks to follow Lions blueprint?

2017-05-24 11:30
Allister Coetzee (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - The Springboks will strive towards a similar game plan employed by the Lions in Super Rugby, coach Allister Coetzee has hinted.

Coetzee was speaking in Johannesburg on Tuesday after naming his squad for next month’s three-Test home series against France, where he named Lions No 8 Warren Whiteley as captain.

The Lions, employing an expansive game style, have again set the benchmark for South African teams in 2017 and currently sit second on the overall Super Rugby standings with 11 wins from 12 matches.

Nine Lions players were included in the 31-man Springbok squad, more than any other franchise.

"If you look at the game holistically, then a combination of players like Warren, Courtnall Skosan, Andries Coetzee and Ross Cronje is a trump card in broken play," Coetzee was quoted as saying by Netwerk24.

"(And) I have a fantastic opportunity to stick to that. I rewarded players like Ross and Andries because they were consistent throughout, but also because they form part of a very experienced combination (at the Lions)." 

The Boks had a torrid 2016, winning a meagre four out of 12 Tests.

It was also tough to point out exactly what game plan was followed, but Coetzee is confident that things will be better in 2017.

“If you look at what happened in Super Rugby, with the attacking intent shown by our franchises, then it shows the way forward. We will obviously be striving towards a greater balance between attack and defence," Coetzee said.

The Springboks will face France on Saturday, June 10 at Loftus Versfeld in Pretoria, followed by Tests at Kings Park in Durban (June 17) and Ellis Park in Johannesburg (June 24).

Springbok squad:


Lood de Jager, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Ruan Dreyer, Eben Etzebeth, Steven Kitshoff, Siya Kolisi, Jaco Kriel, Frans Malherbe, Malcolm Marx, Bongi Mbonambi, Oupa Mohoje, Franco Mostert, Tendai Mtawarira, Lizo Gqoboka, Coenie Oosthuizen, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Duane Vermeulen, Warren Whiteley (captain)


Lukhanyo Am, Andries Coetzee, Ross Cronje, Damian de Allende, Francois Hougaard, Elton Jantjies, Jesse Kriel, Dillyn Leyds, Rudy Paige, Raymond Rhule, Jan Serfontein, Courtnall Skosan, Frans Steyn

Read more on:    springboks  |  allister coetzee  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Saturday, 04 July 2020
South Africa v Scotland, Cape Town 17:05
Saturday, 11 July 2020
South Africa v Scotland, Jonsson Kings Park Stadium 17:05
Saturday, 18 July 2020
South Africa v Georgia, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 17:05
Saturday, 08 August 2020
South Africa v Argentina, Emirates Airline Park 14:00
Saturday, 15 August 2020
Argentina v South Africa, Estadio Bicentenario 21:45
Saturday, 29 August 2020
Australia v South Africa, Perth Oval 14:00

Who should walk away the winner in the Team of the Year category at the 2020 Laureus World Sports Awards?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.