Boks dominate Rugby Union Writers’ Club shortlist

2020-01-01 10:27
Siya Kolisi and Rassie Erasmus
Siya Kolisi and Rassie Erasmus (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - South Africa dominate a list of five nominees in contention to be named The Rugby Union Writers' Club personality of the year for 2019.

Register your interest for the British & Irish Lions tickets in South Africa 2021

The Springboks are represented extensively following their success at autumn's World Cup where a 32-12 victory over England in the Yokohama final claimed the Webb Ellis Trophy for a third time.

Inspirational skipper Siya Kolisi - South Africa's first black Test captain - is among the nominees and he is joined by team-mate Faf De Klerk, the irrepressible Sale Sharks scrumhalf.

Also present is Rassie Erasmus, the mastermind of the Springboks' Japan 2019 triumph despite only taking over as head coach in March 2018.

Erasmus also oversaw the nation's fourth Rugby Championship crown and now acts as South Africa's national director of rugby having relinquished his tracksuit duties.

Wales captain Alun Wyn Jones, his country's most capped player with 134 Test appearances, and Japan talisman Michael Leitch complete the five-strong list.

Leitch was at the helm as the Brave Blossoms reached the World Cup quarter-finals for the first time, the hosts counting Ireland and Scotland among their victims and playing a thrilling brand of rugby that captured imaginations.

The winner of the coveted Pat Marshall Memorial Award will be announced at the annual dinner of the RUWC in central London on January 13.

Greats of the game whose names have been engraved on the winners' trophy in the past include Gareth Edwards, Bill Beaumont, David Campese, Jonah Lomu, Martin Johnson, Jonny Wilkinson, Brian O'Driscoll and Dan Carter.

The current holder is Ireland's Jonathan Sexton with Owen Farrell of England winning in 2017.

- TEAMTalk

Read more on:    siya kolisi  |  rassie erasmus  |  faf de klerk  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Who should walk away the winner in the Team of the Year category at the 2020 Laureus World Sports Awards?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.