Bok Women name side for historic Test

2018-11-09 08:55
Stanley Raubenheimer
Stanley Raubenheimer (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Springbok Women’s coach Stanley Raubenheimer has made three changes to his starting team for South Africa’s first Test in four years when they face Wales at Cardiff Arms Park on Saturday.

Several players are in line to make their Test debuts in the Welsh capital in what will be the team’s first Test since the 2014 Women’s Rugby World Cup. 

Two of the changes were injury-enforced as winger Alana-Lee Horne (ankle) and centre Aphiwe Ngwevu (knock to the arm) are recovering from injuries, which resulted in Snenhlanhla Shozi and Demi Nel being drafted into the starting team. 

The other change was at scrumhalf, where Tayla Kinsey takes over from Fundiswa Plaatjie in a positional switch. 

Only five players in the match-day squad are capped Springbok Women’s 15-a-side players, namely captain Nolusindiso Booi, Thantaswa Macingwane, Kinsey, Nosiphiwo Goda, Charmaine Kayser and Plaatjie.

“Continuity in selection is important,” said Raubenheimer. 

“It will definitely help to enter the match with a number of established player combinations, especially given how big this occasion is for the team. The squad are in good shape, and I am pleased with our preparation this week. 

“Overall there is a positive vibe within the squad, and we are really looking forward to the challenge this weekend.” 

Raubenheimer said he is expecting a big onslaught from Wales. 

“They are a regular Test-playing nation, so we are expecting them to be very strong at set piece time, while they also have good ball-carriers among their forwards,” he said. 

“Our focus is on our structures and what we would like to do in the game. We need to the basics very well, and if we can retain possession and use it positively, I think we will give ourselves an opportunity to be successful.” 

The match kicks off at kicks off 13:30 SA time (11:30 local time). 

Springbok Women:

15 Vuyolwethu Maqholo (Western Province), 14 Nosiphiwo Goda (Border), 13 Demi Nel (Western Province), 12 Zinhle Ndawonde (KZN), 11 Snenhlanhla Shozi (Border), 10 Zintle Mpupha (SA Rugby), 9 Tayla Kinsey (KZN), 8 Aseza Hele (Eastern Province), 7 Sinazo Mcatshulwa (Western Province), 6 Lusanda Dumke (Border), 5 Nolusindiso Booi (captain - Western Province), 4 Bernice Strydom (Free State), 3 Babalwa Latsha (Western Province), 2 Annique Geswind (Western Province), 1 Thantaswa Macingwane (Blue Bulls)

Substitutes: 16 Lindelwa Gwala (KZN), 17 Yonela Ngxingolo (Border), 18 Katlego Moremi (Blue Bulls), 19 Karthy Dludla (KZN), 20 Charmaine Kayser (Western Province), 21 Felicia Jacobs (Western Province), 22 Fundiswa Plaatjie (Border), 23 Kirsten Conrad (Western Province)


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Saturday, 24 November 2018
Wales v South Africa, Principality Stadium 17:00
Wales v South Africa, Principality Stadium 19:20
Saturday, 21 September 2019
New Zealand v South Africa, Yokohama International Stadium 11:45
Saturday, 28 September 2019
South Africa v Namibia, City of Toyota Stadium 11:45
Friday, 04 October 2019
South Africa v Italy, Shizuoka Stadium ECOPA 11:45
Tuesday, 08 October 2019
South Africa v TBC, NOEVIR Stadium Kobe 12:15
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Which of the five nominees for 2018 World Rugby Player of the Year deserves the award most?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.