'Bakkies the Butcher' spices things up in the kitchen

Cape Town - Former Springbok enforcer Bakkies Botha is keeping himself busy in the kitchen as he looks to expand his 'Bakkies the Butcher' brand.

During his stint at French Top 14 giants Toulon between 2011-2015, Botha struggled to find South African-quality meat, resulting in him making his own boerewors.

Shortly after returning to South Africa, Botha launched 'Bakkies the Butcher'.

According to its Facebook page, 'Bakkies the Butcher' brings you 'natural, organic meat products processed with the utmost care and presented with pride'.

The brand has joined forces with Veld tot Vurk (Field to Fork) to produce two products - a Braai Mix barbecue salt and an All-Purpose salt for the kitchen - with the promise of sauces and other products to come.

"The products are made from high-quality salt, contain no MSG or preservatives and are 100% organic and proudly South African," said Botha.

"Only the best is good enough for your braai, potjie or food dishes."

According to the Maroela Media website, as an ambassador to Helping Hands, Botha is donating a percentage of the proceeds from each product to the #HelpJag (#HekpHunt) programme. #HelpJag collaborates with #StopHonger (#StopHunger), which ensures 8 000 needy children get a healthy plate of food every school day.

Botha’s products are available at selected butcheries, delis, biltong shops and retailers nationwide.

Botha, now 40, made his Springbok debut against France in Marseille in November 2002 and played 85 Tests for South Africa before bowing out against England at Twickenham in November 2014.

Botha boasts titles at Rugby World Cup, Tri-Nations, Super Rugby, Currie Cup, Vodacom Cup, Top 14 and Heineken Cup level - one of very few players to have done so.

Botha was also part of the victorious Springboks side against the 2009 British & Irish Lions.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
Who we choose to trust can have a profound impact on our lives. Join thousands of devoted South Africans who look to News24 to bring them news they can trust every day. As we celebrate 25 years, become a News24 subscriber as we strive to keep you informed, inspired and empowered.
Join News24 today
heading
description
username
Show Comments ()
Voting Booth
Should Siya Kolisi keep the captaincy as the Springboks build towards their World Cup title defence in 2027?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Results
Yes! Siya will only be 36 at the next World Cup. He can make it!
25% - 1273 votes
No! I think the smart thing to do is start again with a younger skipper ...
29% - 1471 votes
I'd keep Siya captain for now, but look to have someone else for 2027.
45% - 2250 votes
Vote
Editorial feedback and complaints

Contact the public editor with feedback for our journalists, complaints, queries or suggestions about articles on News24.

LEARN MORE