Adriaanse replaces Nyakane in Bok squad

2016-08-08 12:12
Lourens Adriaanse (Gallo Image)

Cape Town - Springbok prop Lourens Adriaanse was on Monday called up to the Springbok squad after Trevor Nyakane was ruled out of Boks’ first two matches of the Rugby Championship against Argentina because of an ankle injury.

Nyakane will continue his rehabilitation under the supervision of both the Bulls and Springboks’ medical and conditioning team.

Sharks front-ranker, Adriaanse, will join the Springbok squad in Sandton on Monday afternoon.

The Springbok training squad has started to assemble in stages for their preparation of the Rugby Championship match against the Pumas on Saturday, August 20 in Nelspruit.

The locally-based contingent of the squad assembled on Sunday evening in Sandton while the nine Lions players are expected at the camp Thursday.

The overseas-based players and the squad’s two Olympians will join up with the rest of the players on Sunday, August 14.

Springbok coach, Allister Coetzee, said although Nyakane was making good progress he would not be available for selection for the opening two rounds.

“Trevor will continue with his medical treatment, conditioning and recovery but we obviously need to get a replacement in for the two weeks, or as soon as Trevor is declared fit. It will be a risk not to have five fit props in the squad,” said Coetzee.

“Like Trevor, Lourens can play on both sides of the scrum and he was on our standby list. Other prop candidates such as Jannie du Plessis, Lizo Gqoboka and Coenie Oosthuizen are all injured and therefore not available.”

Adriaanse made his only appearance to date for the Boks on November 23, 2013 against France in Paris aged 25.

The Springboks started their weekly activities with a gym workout, followed by a field session in the afternoon at the nearby Hyde Park High School.

Springbok squad:

Forwards (18): Jaco Kriel, Malcolm Marx, Franco Mostert, Julian Redlinghuys, Warren Whiteley (all Lions), Eben Etzebeth, Vincent Koch, Bongi Mbonambi, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Pieter-Steph du Toit (all Stormers), Lood de Jager, Teboho 'Oupa' Mohoje (both Cheetahs), Lourens Adriaanse (Sharks), Adriaan Strauss (captain, Bulls), Steven Kitshoff (Bordeaux/FRA), Francois Louw (Bath/ENG), Tendai Mtawarira (Sharks), Duane Vermeulen (Toulon/FRA)

Backs (13): Ruan Combrinck, Elton Jantjies, Faf de Klerk, Lionel Mapoe (all Lions), Damian de Allende, Juan de Jongh (both Stormers), Jesse Kriel, Rudy Paige (both Bulls), Johan Goosen (Racing 92/FRA), Bryan Habana (Toulon/FRA), Francois Hougaard (Worcester/ENG), Lwazi Mvovo (Sharks), Morne Steyn (Stade Francais/FRA)


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Following the conclusion of the various end of year tours to Europe, who is your favourite for the 2019 Rugby World Cup title?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.