No IRB award for Vermeulen?

2014-11-20 11:49
Duane Vermeulen (AFP)

Jamie Roberts, Springboks Cornal Hendricks and Francois Hougaard, Magali Harvey, and Jonny May are the five tries nominated for International Rugby Players Association try of the year award 2014.

Cape Town - Stand-out Springbok No 8 Duane Vermeulen won't be lifting the IRB Player of the Year award for 2014, if bookmakers are to be believed...

VIDEO: The five 2014 IRB Player of the Year nominees

The Stormers' burly eighthman has enjoyed a break-out season which culminated in his nomination - alongside team-mate Willie le Roux - on the five-player shortlist for the top award in world rugby.

However, it's the All Blacks duo of wing Julian Savea and lock Brodie Retallick who are favoured to scoop the award in the coming days.

Savea has been installed as the 8/5 favourites according to SA bookies sportingbet, followed by Retallick at 9/4.

Vermeulen is next best at 12/5, followed by Ireland flyhalf Jonathan Sexton (6/1) and Le Roux (8/1).

While Vermeulen may not follow in the footsteps of former Springbok winners of the award - Schalk Burger (2004) and Bryan Habana (2007) - he ought to be a shoo-in for the 2014 SARU Rugby Player of the Year award.

Read more on:    springboks  |  duane vermeulen  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Saturday, 09 June 2018
New Zealand v France, Auckland 09:35
Australia v Ireland, Brisbane 12:05
South Africa v England, Johannesburg 17:05
Saturday, 16 June 2018
New Zealand v France, Wellington 09:35
Australia v Ireland, Melbourne 12:05
South Africa v England, Bloemfontein 17:05
Saturday, 23 June 2018
New Zealand v France, Dunedin 09:35
Australia v Ireland, Sydney 12:05
South Africa v England, Cape Town 17:05
Saturday, 18 August 2018
South Africa v Argentina, Durban 00:00
Saturday, 25 August 2018
Argentina v South Africa, TBA 00:00
Saturday, 08 September 2018
Australia v South Africa, Brisbane 00:00

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.