Hougaard's try best of the year?

2014-11-20 13:00
Sport24 columnist Francois Hougaard (File)
Cape Town - Francois Hougaard's try against the All Blacks during this year's Rugby Championship is favourite to win the IRPA Try of the Year, according to bookmakers.

VIDEO: The five 2014 IRPA Try of the Year nominees

Hougaard's try brought the Ellis Park crowd to its feet in the final match of the Rugby Championship in October. The scrumhalf dived under the posts to finish off a move that had begun deep in South Africa’s 22 and involved all of the backline on the way to a 27-25 Springbok victory over New Zealand.

Hougaard's effort has been installed as the 8/5 favourite for the award by SA bookies sportingbet, narrowly ahead of team-mate Cornal Hendricks' five-pointer on his debut against Wales in Durban in June, at (7/4).

The other contenders for the award are tries by Welshman Jamie Roberts (10/3), England’s Jonny May (6/1) and Canada’s IRB Women’s Player of the Year 2014, Magali Harvey (8/1).

The award has been won twice previously by Springboks - Bryan Habana (2012) and Jaque Fourie (2009).

Previous winners:

2013 – Beauden Barrett (New Zealand)
2012 – Bryan Habana (South Africa)
2011 – Radike Samo (Australia)
2010 – Chris Ashton (England)
2009 – Jaque Fourie (South Africa)
2008 – Brian O’Driscoll (Ireland)

Read more on:    springboks  |  francois hougaard  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk

Saturday, 09 June 2018
New Zealand v France, Auckland 09:35
Australia v Ireland, Brisbane 12:05
South Africa v England, Johannesburg 17:05
Saturday, 16 June 2018
New Zealand v France, Wellington 09:35
Australia v Ireland, Melbourne 12:05
South Africa v England, Bloemfontein 17:05
Saturday, 23 June 2018
New Zealand v France, Dunedin 09:35
Australia v Ireland, Sydney 12:05
South Africa v England, Cape Town 17:05
Saturday, 18 August 2018
South Africa v Argentina, Durban 00:00
Saturday, 25 August 2018
Argentina v South Africa, TBA 00:00
Saturday, 08 September 2018
Australia v South Africa, Brisbane 00:00

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.