Duane dedicates awards to parents

2015-02-09 09:33
Duane Vermeulen (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - Springbok and Stormers No 8 Duane Vermeulen has dedicated his South African rugby awards to his parents.

GALLERY: SA Rugby Player of the Year Awards

Vermeulen on Sunday walked off with three awards at the annual South African Rugby Union Player of the Year Awards.

He was named SARU Rugby Player of the Year after an extensive voting process, which included the country’s rugby media and the public through SARU’s online and social media platforms.

The 28-year-old Vermeulen, who will captain the Stormers this year, also won the coveted SARPA Players’ Player of the Year and Super Rugby Player of the Year Awards for 2014.

An emotional Vermeulen afterwards dedicated his awards to his parents. His dad passed away when he was eight years old.

"It was an unbelievable year," he told Netwerk24. "The biggest achievement for me was just to remain injury free throughout the season. When I wake up tomorrow morning and see the trophies in my home it will all probably sink in."

The winners and finalists (where applicable) in all the categories for 2014 are:

SARU Rugby Player of the Year:
Duane Vermeulen

Nizaam Carr, Marcell Coetzee, Willie le Roux, Handré Pollard

Young Player of the Year:
Handré Pollard

Nizaam Carr, Cheslin Kolbe, Seabelo Senatla, Jan Serfontein

SARPA Players’ Player of the Year:
Duane Vermeulen (Stormers, Springboks)

Springbok Sevens Player of the Year:
Seabelo Senatla

Branco du Preez, Frankie Horne

SA Under-20 Player of the Year:
Handré Pollard

Thomas du Toit, Jesse Kriel

Team of the Year:
Western Province (Currie Cup)

Springboks, Junior Springboks, Springbok Sevens, Golden Lions (Currie Cup)

Coach of the Year:
Johann Ackermann (Golden Lions)

Allister Coetzee (Stormers & Western Province), Neil Powell (Springbok Sevens)

Super Rugby Player of Year:
Duane Vermeulen (Stormers)

Marcell Coetzee (Sharks), Warren Whiteley (Lions)

Vodacom Cup Player of the Year:
Renaldo Bothma (Pumas)

Jonathan Francke (Griquas), Lizo Gqoboka (EP Kings)

Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year:
Nizaam Carr (Western Province)

Juan de Jongh (Western Province), Jaco Kriel (Golden Lions)

Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year:
Boela Abrahams (Griffons)

Sylvian Mahuza (Leopards), Dillon Smit (Leopards)

Try of the Year:
Teboho “Oupa” Mohoje (Toyota Cheetahs v Crusaders, Vodacom Super Rugby)

Cornal Hendricks (Cheetahs v Blues, Super Rugby), Nathan Nel (UCT v Pukke, Varsity Cup Final), Seabelo Senatla (Western Province v Blue Bulls, Currie Cup), Juan de Jongh (Western Province v Blue Bulls, Currie Cup) and Corné Fourie (Lions v Cheetahs, Super Rugby)

Referee Award:
Craig Joubert

Women’s Achiever of the Year:
Fundiswa Plaatjie

Cell C Community Cup Player of the Tournament:
Michael Nienaber (Rustenburg Impala)

Coca-Cola Craven Week Player of the Tournament:
Curwin Bosch (Eastern Province)

Read more on:    springboks  |  duane vermeulen  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Following the conclusion of the various end of year tours to Europe, who is your favourite for the 2019 Rugby World Cup title?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.