SARU snub for overseas Boks

2013-04-24 17:06
Bryan Habana (Gallo Images)
Johannesburg - Record try-scorer Bryan Habana was one of six senior internationals not awarded a Springbok contract on Wednesday as coach Heyneke Meyer said the trend of players moving to overseas clubs was "not ideal" for his plans.

Habana, who has 47 tries in 83 Tests, and the other five players would have been awarded national contracts for 2013 if not for their decisions to move to Europe or Japan, the South African Rugby Union said.

Flyhalf Morne Steyn, fullback Zane Kirchner, wing JP Pietersen and locks Andries Bekker and Juandre Kruger were also left off the 15-player list as they're set to leave South Africa toward the end of the season. SARU said a further five national contracts were still available and would be awarded later.

SARU chief executive Jurie Roux recognised the trend which has been exacerbated by the weakening of the South African currency and has seen front-line Springboks - and not only fringe players - take up big-money contracts overseas.

"We've kept as many of our top players in South Africa as we could by awarding them national contracts, despite the powerful lure of the pound, euro and yen," Roux said.

Habana has signed for big-spending Toulon of France and will move at the end of the Super Rugby season, although the prolific wing has said he will still be available for the Springboks. However, there are obvious logistical difficulties in having senior national team members playing in the European or Japanese seasons.

"Losing experienced players to overseas teams is not ideal, but it's their right to further their careers abroad," coach Meyer said.

In response, SARU named a reasonably young 15-man group of centrally contracted players with an average age of 26.

Captain Jean de Villiers, flyhalf Pat Lambie, 21-year-old lock Eben Etzebeth and front-row regulars Tendai Mtawarira, Bismarck du Plessis and Jannie du Plessis all were given contracts, as were loose forwards Willem Alberts, Marcell Coetzee, Pierre Spies and Duane Vermeulen.

Schalk Burger was not on the list after he struggled with knee and calf injuries and then recently contracted bacterial meningitis. The former IRB world player of the year hasn't played for over a year.

Habana ended 2012 in top form and was voted South Africa's Player of the Year for the third time despite a late-season injury.

Fellow wing Pietersen and Kirchner were first choices in their positions, while Bekker and Kruger were South Africa's top two No 5 locks last season. Although Steyn lost his starting place, he was expected to remain important for the Springboks this year after the loss to injury of young No. 10 Johan Goosen.

Pietersen is set to play in Japan and may not be available for the Boks' Rugby Championship campaign against world champions New Zealand, Australia and Argentina over the next two seasons. Steyn, Kirchner and Kruger will also likely miss time in the national jersey. Towering second-rower Bekker was left out of Meyer's first Springbok squad of the season altogether, suggesting he won't be considered at all while he plays in Japan.

Starting scrumhalf Ruan Pienaar and openside flank Francois Louw already play overseas.

Springbok contract group:

Willem Alberts - Sharks 
Marcell Coetzee - Sharks  
Juan de Jongh - Western Province  
Jean de Villiers - Western Province  
Bismarck du Plessis - Sharks  
Jannie du Plessis - Sharks  
Eben Etzebeth - Western Province  
Francois Hougaard - Blue Bulls  
Pat Lambie - Sharks  
Tendai Mtawarira - Sharks  
Pierre Spies - Blue Bulls 
Frans Steyn - Sharks 
Adriaan Strauss - Free State Cheetahs  
Flip van der Merwe - Blue Bulls  
Duane Vermeulen - Western Province  


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Saturday, 12 November 2016
Germany v Uruguay, Volksbank Stadion 18:45
Tuesday, 13 June 2017
Canada v Usa, BMO Stadium 01:00
Saturday, 17 June 2017
Canada v Usa, BMO Stadium 01:00
Saturday, 18 November 2017
Belgium v Brazil, Petit Heysel 16:00
Saturday, 09 June 2018
New Zealand v France, Auckland 09:35
Australia v Ireland, Brisbane 12:05
South Africa v England, Johannesburg 17:05
Saturday, 16 June 2018
New Zealand v France, Wellington 09:35
Australia v Ireland, Melbourne 12:05
South Africa v England, Bloemfontein 17:05

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.